Digital Spy Forums

Digital Spy Forums (http://forums.digitalspy.co.uk/index.php)
-   Tablets and e-Readers (http://forums.digitalspy.co.uk/forumdisplay.php?f=164)
-   -   Changing ownership of IPad (http://forums.digitalspy.co.uk/showthread.php?t=1800883)

Chat 22-02-2013 08:21

Changing ownership of IPad
 
The iPad was originally my husbands but now he has his Mac Book I use it. How do we change all the defaults from his name to mine. It won't let us just go in and change it. Do we just do a complete reset?

!!11oneone 22-02-2013 09:04

Yes, do a reset. But if you attach it to a different iTunes account you'll lose all purchases.

Chat 22-02-2013 09:18

Thank you

BKM 22-02-2013 09:22

Quote:

Originally Posted by !!11oneone (Post 64399034)
Yes, do a reset. But if you attach it to a different iTunes account you'll lose all purchases.

Not true! You can have Apps from different iTunes accounts on an iDevice at the same time!

psionic 22-02-2013 10:25

Quote:

Originally Posted by Chat (Post 64398725)
The iPad was originally my husbands but now he has his Mac Book I use it. How do we change all the defaults from his name to mine. It won't let us just go in and change it. Do we just do a complete reset?

Is this iPad synced with iTunes on your own computer?

By 'defaults from his name to mine' do you mean different iTunes libraries/users on your computer? Or same library/user but just want to change it's name from 'Mr.Bloggs iPad' to 'Mrs.Bloggs iPad'?

!!11oneone 22-02-2013 11:24

Quote:

Originally Posted by BKM (Post 64399203)
Not true! You can have Apps from different iTunes accounts on an iDevice at the same time!

Not if you reset it completely and attach it to a new account (i.e. the old account is no longer there, because it's been reset) which is what I was getting at.

BKM 22-02-2013 11:53

Quote:

Originally Posted by !!11oneone (Post 64400582)
Not if you reset it completely and attach it to a new account (i.e. the old account is no longer there, because it's been reset) which is what I was getting at.

If you do a full reset then yes! In general it will add Apps from a new account to any existing ones. I guess that may prove more complex to manage than many people would wish!


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:51.