Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 
 

telephone wiring diagram


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 24-11-2003, 00:53
nelmssy
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Derby
Posts: 75

hi

a friend of mine tripped over his phone line today, ripping the wires out the back of the white box on the wall (and ripping the box off the wall at the same time). so, as he can't access the internet at the moment, i'll ask his 3 questions

1. Can someone point me in the direction of a diagram to show me which wires go where?

2. What tool do I need for this? I know the sort of thing i need, but i describe it as a 'pushing down thingy'.

3. How much would ntl charge to come out and fix it if i can't?

ta muchly
nelmssy is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 24-11-2003, 16:31
Stressed Eric
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 410
White with blue bands goes to 5
Blue with white bands goes to 2
white/green and white/orange are not connected.

Pushy in tool should be from anywhere that sells phone cable extensions, along with cable clips to stop the wire being tripped over

Price for NTL to do it, not sure

Have fun!
Stressed Eric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-11-2003, 16:48
PraisetheBeeb
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Stoke on Trent
Posts: 1,289
ntl will charge 50 call out to fix the box, unless you can somehow prove that the fault was ntls!!
PraisetheBeeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-11-2003, 01:08
nelmssy
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Derby
Posts: 75
thanks, boh of you. now, how do we blame ntl for this...
nelmssy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-11-2003, 17:11
175elephants
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2
Sorry to break into this thread, but I do have a related query and can't open a new thread as I'm on probation as a new member.

Does anybody know the impedance of the co-ax that goes into the back of my STB. I want to move it to another room and need some new cable. I'm guessing its 75 ohms but thought I'd check?

Thanks
175elephants is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-11-2003, 17:37
Buffalo
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Bristol
Posts: 668
Correct - 75 Ohms
Buffalo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-11-2003, 01:10
Peter Litler
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Stockport, Cheshire
Posts: 506
Originally posted by 175elephants

Does anybody know the impedance of the co-ax that goes into the back of my STB. I want to move it to another room and need some new cable. I'm guessing its 75 ohms but thought I'd check?

Thanks
It is 75ohms and the coaxial cable type is RG6,but I ought to warn you that under the Terms and Conditions of your contract you are not allowed to move the STB yourself.
To do so may also change the optimum signal strength slightly,as the level was set up with a meter when the STB was installed.
Peter Litler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-11-2003, 09:11
175elephants
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2
Noted and thanks
175elephants is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-11-2003, 11:10
ntltech650
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: HAMPSHIRE
Posts: 6
Wiring for NTL sockets is as follows

Blue to 2 (or B if it's a master socket)
Blue and White to 5 (or A)
Orange to 3 (if it's an extension)

The pushy in tool is called a KRONE tool and they cost about 20,

The best thing to do is contact ntl, if you tripped over the cable it means it wasn't fitted to the correct standards (FSG) i.e. the cabling should be secured in all places at spacings of no more than 300mm with the termination socket within 2m of the operating equipment. NTL Should correct this FREE OF CHARGE.

As for the 75ohm cabling question, if you do move it be sure to use only copper plated aluminium, foam dialetric cable or you wont get a return path.
ntltech650 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-11-2003, 13:36
djstorm
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: west lothian
Posts: 246
hi
you can put your wires back into socket with a thin headed screwdriver just make sure the wires go all the way down.
djstorm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-11-2003, 13:55
kwilliams
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Cardiff, UK
Posts: 743
You can get Krone punch down tools in B&Q for about 1.60 but the're not as good as the 20 ones since they are made of plastic.
kwilliams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-11-2003, 16:00
looper
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 38
Originally posted by PraisetheBeeb
ntl will charge 50 call out to fix the box, unless you can somehow prove that the fault was ntls!!
Call out charges are down to the descrestion of the technician who attends the call, and seeing that it sounds like a quick two minute job to rectifie this problem i cannot see any of the derby techs charging for this.
looper is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:21.