Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 
 

BBC HD New Encoder?


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-08-2009, 16:36
remlap
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: SOUTH WALES!
Posts: 6,143

BBC HD New Encoder?

Is BBC HD using a new encoder its currently running at 9.7 Mbit used to be 16ish if I remember right.
remlap is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 05-08-2009, 16:56
u006852
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 7,144
Linowsat says it was at 16 yesterday, so it can have only changed today if thats the case.
u006852 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2009, 17:04
remlap
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: SOUTH WALES!
Posts: 6,143
Right so its today it changed and its wasting 9MBit 26% of the transponders packets, enough for an HD channel if needed.
remlap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2009, 17:16
u006852
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 7,144
Right so its today it changed and its wasting 9MBit 26% of the transponders packets, enough for an HD channel if needed.
Well, one has to ask why turn it down unless the freed up space is going to be used for something?

Perhaps that is wishful thinking of course!

This thread will now explode with theories as to whats coming, CH4HD or whatever!

.....and it will probably turn out to be nothing of the sort, but hey whats the harm in being optomistic?
u006852 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2009, 17:37
Bob_Cat
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 1,302
Can't confirm anything but I think a software update was due to their encoders?
Bob_Cat is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2009, 17:39
u006852
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 7,144
It has been talked about for a long time.

Anyway I'm not getting my hopes up regarding new HD channels.
u006852 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2009, 19:02
remlap
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: SOUTH WALES!
Posts: 6,143
It is interesting that they have forked out for new encoders if there was no reason to it though.
remlap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2009, 19:13
cbram1970
Guest
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 398
BBC HD+1 of course lol
cbram1970 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2009, 19:14
mrMick
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Cambridge
Posts: 964
they've been on 2 transponders for some time now, one with just the promo. a new, better quality encoder is certainly a possibility...
mrMick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2009, 19:19
remlap
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: SOUTH WALES!
Posts: 6,143
they've been on 2 transponders for some time now, one with just the promo. a new, better quality encoder is certainly a possibility...
No they have not, that test was long removed and still not proven if it was from BBC anyway.
remlap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2009, 19:20
u006852
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 7,144
It is interesting that they have forked out for new encoders if there was no reason to it though



Well they were getting a lot of stick for the picture quality at one point.

Some of the criticism was justified, but IMHO it was never anywhere near as bad as some critics said it was.

It may be a software update, not necessarily new encoders, so costs are unknown.

Also I did speculate if the encoder work Andy Quested said was being done was driven mainly by the freeview HD platform.

AFAIK it will be operating at challengingly low bit rates.

Pure speculation though, just thinking out loud.

We just don't know if the free space will be used for anything at all, or could even be an SD channel!
u006852 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2009, 19:21
remlap
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: SOUTH WALES!
Posts: 6,143
SD channel or three mate, enough room for that.
remlap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2009, 19:27
u006852
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 7,144
SD channel or three mate, enough room for that.
Well 2

anyway Andy Quested is the man that will know the answers.

Andy? Are you out there?
u006852 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2009, 19:29
mrMick
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Cambridge
Posts: 964
No they have not, that test was long removed and still not proven if it was from BBC anyway.
what was this?

Txp# 8 11.856 V DVB-S2 MPEG4 HD SR 29.500 FEC 3/4
3853_______HD S2 Format Showing Shortened BBC HD Preview.

if not a second BBC HD on another tx..
mrMick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2009, 19:44
carvell
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 709
As someone has said, that's long since gone and nothing proves it was the BBC running it anyway.
carvell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2009, 19:50
scoobiesnacks
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 940
I've not been watching over the past week. What's the quality like? Good/worse/about the same?
scoobiesnacks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2009, 19:52
Boatman
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: South Wales
Posts: 387
According to Linowsat http://www.linowsat.co.uk/0282/all/0282.shtml, the bitrate is still around 16.
Where did the OP get his information from?
Boatman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2009, 20:00
u006852
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 7,144
According to Linowsat http://www.linowsat.co.uk/0282/all/0282.shtml, the bitrate is still around 16.
Where did the OP get his information from?
It says the latest sample was taken at 17:36 this afternoon, but if you check the charts they only show data up to yesterday.

Anyone with DVB viewer out there to confirm?
u006852 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2009, 20:02
MrEco
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chatham, Kent
Posts: 214
DVBViewer is showing 9.6 Mbit/s right now.
MrEco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2009, 20:04
u006852
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 7,144
DVBViewer is showing 9.6 Mbit/s right now.
Wow! Now theres service! Thank you.
u006852 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2009, 20:20
scoobiesnacks
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 940
Watching "Wildest dreams" right now I certainly wouldn't say the picture is better. In fact its average.
I suspect its the same encoder, they've cut the bandwidth to see if we notice.
scoobiesnacks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2009, 20:37
remlap
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: SOUTH WALES!
Posts: 6,143
Watching "Wildest dreams" right now I certainly wouldn't say the picture is better. In fact its average.
I suspect its the same encoder, they've cut the bandwidth to see if we notice.
Its a new encoder or at-least different video type slightly DVBViewer's on screen display reacts different to it, similar to how Luxe TV HD is.
remlap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2009, 20:38
u006852
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 7,144
Watching "Wildest dreams" right now I certainly wouldn't say the picture is better. In fact its average.
I suspect its the same encoder, they've cut the bandwidth to see if we notice.
Well lit scenes seemed OK, however the "performance review" scenes which were less well lit had what looked like camera noise.

It was certainly struggling with the noise and showed artifacts when viewed close up.

Not particularly noticeable from normal viewing distance.

Obviously without a direct A/B it's impossible to say what this looked like at the higher rate.
u006852 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2009, 20:40
scoobiesnacks
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 940
Well lit scenes seemed OK, however the "performance review" scenes which were less well lit had what looked like camera noise.

It was certainly struggling with the noise and showed artifacts when viewed close up.

Not particularly noticeable from normal viewing distance.

Obviously without a direct A/B it's impossible to say what this looked like at the higher rate.
I've got plenty of recordings. I should be able to benchmark something. eg Wallander.

Agree with you on the noise and artefacts.

My main test is the wow factor. Look at it from a distance and see if I can say to myself its a great picture. At the moment - Life of Riley showing- it isn't.
scoobiesnacks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2009, 20:43
remlap
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: SOUTH WALES!
Posts: 6,143
Well 2

anyway Andy Quested is the man that will know the answers.

Andy? Are you out there?
You could probably run 4 at a stretch
remlap is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 18:23.