Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

Where has the google search button gone?


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 30-10-2009, 10:10
Aberdeen Angus
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 4,390

When I go to http://www.google.co.uk it says "this space intentionally left blank". Whats going on?
Aberdeen Angus is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 30-10-2009, 10:43
scorpio20080
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,776
When I go to http://www.google.co.uk it says "this space intentionally left blank". Whats going on?
It looks fine to me?
scorpio20080 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-10-2009, 11:01
Aberdeen Angus
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 4,390
It looks fine to me?
When I go to google even the 'I'm feeling lucky' button has disappeared. Has this happened to anyone else?
Aberdeen Angus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-10-2009, 11:06
Maisy27
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 391
Mine is fine too. Why don't you download the Google toolbar - there is permanently a small space at the top of your page which you type your query into. It's really handy to have, and saves you going to the Google website.

Last edited by Maisy27 : 30-10-2009 at 11:10. Reason: Added something
Maisy27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-10-2009, 11:08
ThePhenom
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1,264
They are missing for me as well in Firefox. Chrome and IE are fine though.
ThePhenom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-10-2009, 11:42
Sigurd
Guest
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 24,445
What happens for me in Firefox is that at first the Google Search and I'm Feeling Lucky buttons are missing and there's a message that says Press enter to search.

However, the buttons appear after a variable amount of time, sometimes 5 seconds or so but sometimes around 15. Odd though not all that important. It'll probably sort itself out, unless it's another bit of deliberate Google tinkering.
Sigurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-10-2009, 11:55
izanami
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Yorkshire
Posts: 2,623
Looks fine to me in Firefox.
izanami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-10-2009, 12:02
Sigurd
Guest
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 24,445
Looks as if it's a "Google Homepage design experiment":

http://www.google.com/support/forum/...ca8ab28e3df1ae

It seems to have been running for some time but affecting only certain IP addresses. It seems that when you first open Google the buttons aren't there (at least for some of us) but they appear when you move your mouse pointer.

PS: This is what it looks like initially: http://i33.tinypic.com/wwelfp.jpg

And then various other bits and pieces fade in when you move your mouse: http://i33.tinypic.com/2nsrwk1.jpg
Sigurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-10-2009, 12:27
jimmy7bellies
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 9,477
You broke google.

Looks fine on mine in firefox.
jimmy7bellies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-10-2009, 13:08
MGS4SnakeRulez
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 16,519
They are missing for me as well in Firefox. Chrome and IE are fine though.
Not for me. I'm using firefox and can see them fine.
MGS4SnakeRulez is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 30-10-2009, 14:54
Cruachan
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: West Midlands
Posts: 6,914
Looks as if it's a "Google Homepage design experiment":

http://www.google.com/support/forum/...ca8ab28e3df1ae

It seems to have been running for some time but affecting only certain IP addresses. It seems that when you first open Google the buttons aren't there (at least for some of us) but they appear when you move your mouse pointer.

PS: This is what it looks like initially: http://i33.tinypic.com/wwelfp.jpg

And then various other bits and pieces fade in when you move your mouse: http://i33.tinypic.com/2nsrwk1.jpg
Ah, it looks like Google is trying to get people to use "Enter" to start a search rather than click on a buttonn.

It's not there now for me, but I do remember seeing a message on the usual Google home page saying something like "Tip - it's quicker to press Enter to search"
Cruachan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-10-2009, 16:09
sy278
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 1,115
is fine in firefox but in IE it is doing exactly as described above.
sy278 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-10-2009, 18:26
jim4bb
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Central Scotland
Posts: 3,058
My Search Button is missing, and I want it back !!!!
jim4bb is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:01.