Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

Samsung Galaxy S2 Signal Boost App


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 16-08-2011, 17:54
Brush Master
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London, U.K.
Posts: 1,560

The latest Samsung Galaxy S2 (Orange) includes a "Signal Boost" app, which boasts to improve indoors mobile phone reception by using the WiFi network in some way.

I can't yet confirm that it makes a difference; maybe it does. I am very curious to learn how this is supposed to work; would anyone know?

[Edit] Found this: http://androidphone-tips.blogspot.co...ost-wi-fi.html. Not sure if this is an accurate description.
[/Edit]
Brush Master is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 16-08-2011, 18:25
unklesam
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 906
The latest Samsung Galaxy S2 (Orange) includes a "Signal Boost" app, which boasts to improve indoors mobile phone reception by using the WiFi network in some way.

I can't yet confirm that it makes a difference; maybe it does. I am very curious to learn how this is supposed to work; would anyone know?

[Edit] Found this: http://androidphone-tips.blogspot.co...ost-wi-fi.html. Not sure if this is an accurate description.
[/Edit]
Its a fantastic app, How it works is it uses your WiFi signal to make and receive calls and texts, so if you have poor signal at home you are now guaranteed excellent signal.
unklesam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-08-2011, 18:42
alanwarwic
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Researchington
Posts: 24,588
Its VOIP then but I imagine with standard mobile charges if you make a call.
alanwarwic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-08-2011, 19:46
Stephen93
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Derbyshire
Posts: 899
Do Vodafone do the same?

I know they have their Sure Signal but that involves another box & power suply, not the best option.
Stephen93 is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 16-08-2011, 20:22
unklesam
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 906
Its VOIP then but I imagine with standard mobile charges if you make a call.
Thats correct, and even better is if you are abroad and use this service you are charged no roaming, it just comes of your standard mins
unklesam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-08-2011, 20:23
unklesam
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 906
Do Vodafone do the same?

I know they have their Sure Signal but that involves another box & power suply, not the best option.
No, Only Orange, T-mo are starting to roll it out. Sure Signal is all Vodafone offer, still more than O2 who offer damn all
unklesam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-08-2011, 20:51
Stephen93
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Derbyshire
Posts: 899
Got the Sure Signal box as it was free, don't use it because I've got a good "H" signal, the Sure Signal makes no difference.
Stephen93 is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 16-08-2011, 21:46
Brush Master
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London, U.K.
Posts: 1,560
Thats correct, and even better is if you are abroad and use this service you are charged no roaming, it just comes of your standard mins
Oh, that's pretty nice to know. Thanks.
Brush Master is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-08-2011, 01:44
paulbrock
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Wapping, London
Posts: 15,847
interesting. Any way to get the app if you're on an unbranded S2?
paulbrock is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 17-08-2011, 02:23
IslandNiles
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 12,820
Is this an app just for the SG2, or just for Android, or is it available for other platforms? I'm on Orange and have a terrible signal at home.
IslandNiles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 17-08-2011, 05:30
unklesam
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 906
interesting. Any way to get the app if you're on an unbranded S2?
Go to XDA and get the Orange ROM and flash
unklesam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-08-2011, 05:31
unklesam
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 906
Is this an app just for the SG2, or just for Android, or is it available for other platforms? I'm on Orange and have a terrible signal at home.
Its available on a few android handsets, blackberrys, and Nokia N8, you have to flash the Orange branded ROM
unklesam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-08-2011, 12:24
cribology
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,950
Ahh, flashing the Orange Rom means getting all the other crapware Orange includes on its phone.
cribology is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-08-2011, 13:40
paulbrock
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Wapping, London
Posts: 15,847
Ahh, flashing the Orange Rom means getting all the other crapware Orange includes on its phone.
yeah I'll pass.
paulbrock is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 16:08.