Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 
 

Digital Switchover & Retunes: London (Merged)


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-04-2012, 17:26
Sue_Aitch
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 4,712
You will continue to use / view these on the TV's analogue tuners just as you did previously.
You will need to switch from DigitalTV to AnalogueTV to do so (if they are equipped with digital tuners).

As others have said make sure the Sky box and VCR are on when tuning the analogue side of the sets as - otherwise - they will be 'lost'.
Newbiw Topdeals has posted to the Sky Subforum about the Eye since their maiden post.
Sue_Aitch is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 04-04-2012, 18:43
Heinz
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: NE Essex,6m SSW of Sudbury TX
Posts: 7,065
Well, I've tried UHF channel 23 off the back of my aerial (Sudbury and CP are almost exactly opposite compass bearings for me) and 200kW at 48 miles is not giving me anything.

I'm a bit dissapointed really.
Heinz is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2012, 18:48
Sue_Aitch
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 4,712
Buy a second aerial
Sue_Aitch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2012, 20:17
Socialaddict
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Little Mixer ♥
Posts: 771
What's the PASSCODE???!

I've tried 1234 and 0000 and they don't work!
Socialaddict is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2012, 20:57
kasg
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: West Sussex (Crystal Palace)
Posts: 2,502
What's the PASSCODE???!

I've tried 1234 and 0000 and they don't work!
Deleted - just seen you've started another thread for this.
kasg is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2012, 21:26
kasg
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: West Sussex (Crystal Palace)
Posts: 2,502
And another thing - I now know that it wasn't the Reigate Mux on ch31 that was knocking out my reception of the Crystal Palace HD mux, since that Reigate Mux went off air last night and I still can't get it. I know it's only 10kW but I used to be able to get it until it stopped a few months ago. More oddness! Never mind, it'll be back in two weeks.
kasg is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2012, 22:35
Supercell
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,699
Hmmm....just got home from work switched on tv, no channels so did retune.....but now no bbc1 or 2! Will have to have a think.....in Reading by the way
Supercell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2012, 22:53
tomee
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,616
Hmmm....just got home from work switched on tv, no channels so did retune.....but now no bbc1 or 2! Will have to have a think.....in Reading by the way
Have you try looking in the 800s numbers as some channels get move there.
tomee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2012, 23:29
Colin_London
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Essex
Posts: 2,671
Has anyone else experienced improvement in signal stats for multiplexes supposedly unrelated to the DSO1 change?

My reception of the HD Mux on C31 has improved appreciably (Quality increase 53 to 86%, Pre-FEC reduced 1.4E-2 to 7E-3, C/N increased from 19dB to 23dB) and Mux A on C32 has seen a slight improvement in Quality & C/N.

Don't quite see how the removal of C25 low power digital and high power analogue being replaced with high power digital on C23 would cause an improvement on C31 & 32
Colin_London is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2012, 23:38
Supercell
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,699
Have you try looking in the 800s numbers as some channels get move there.
Gave the wires a bit of a wiggle and did another retune, seem to have got them all back now...phew!
Supercell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2012, 23:51
Ray Cathode
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Guildford / Crystal Palace
Posts: 13,114
Has anyone else experienced improvement in signal stats for multiplexes supposedly unrelated to the DSO1 change?

My reception of the HD Mux on C31 has improved appreciably (Quality increase 53 to 86%, Pre-FEC reduced 1.4E-2 to 7E-3, C/N increased from 19dB to 23dB) and Mux A on C32 has seen a slight improvement in Quality & C/N.

Don't quite see how the removal of C25 low power digital and high power analogue being replaced with high power digital on C23 would cause an improvement on C31 & 32
IMHO CP has been on reduced power since just after Christmas. I think they've done this by using half an antenna so that feeds can be swapped round between antennas. All I can say is that BBC A on UHF23 is coming through here at a higher power and quality than any of the tests. One analogue channel has always been shite (since Xmas) now it's BBC ONE. Previously it had been ITV or C4. I've never been able to get HD reliably.

All the low power digital inc HD share the same stack at CP under the main antenna. With one missing mux, perhaps the "volume" on the rest was turned up. Or it may be better SWR characteristics.

Hopefully CP full power digital will be good enough for me to drop Guildford as an alternative, but I'll wait until summer to rejig my aerials.
Ray Cathode is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2012, 23:59
Martin Phillp
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: London
Posts: 20,277
Are my eyes deceiving me or is the picture quality on BBC Three tonight a lot better than yesterday?
Martin Phillp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012, 02:20
leslie123
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 358
I'm very impressed with the signal strength of the new BBC A multiplex. I can get excellant reception on a pocket size Nikkai set from Maplins with a built in telescopic aerial which only extends about six inches long, which I bought for the wife. She is very pleased and looks forward to the other multiplexes going high power in the next couple of weeks. With regard to the analogue transmissions of which I have commented on before. Like Ray, I have pointed out how poor analogue reception was whilst preparation work was being carried out.However for the past two or three weeks since work was completed reception was excellant on all five channels just like it used to be with all channels being operated at full power. That is up until shutdown at 00.30 last night. I have no doubt that the picture on ITV1 now is much weaker and grainy since coming back on air on channel 33, indeed BBC1 and Channel 4 dont look so brilliant either though not as bad as ITV1. Of course Channel 5 remains excellant as expected. One thought that nobody has mentioned. Whilst people have been speculating as to how engineers managed to put a feed of ITV1 through BBC2 's transmitter or alternatively recalibrating the rf output of the ITV1 transmitter and running around frantic in the space of one hour in the middle of the night in order to do this.That might not have been the case at all.What might have happened is that engineers might have been working at a nice leisurely pace down at Croydon for the past couple of weeks in order to transfer a feed of ITV1 on to BBC2 ' s back up transmitter. Remember Croydon has not been on air for the past two weeks and judging by the current picture quality of ITV1 it looks exactly like that of BBC2 when that has been broadcast from Croydon.
leslie123 is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012, 06:34
radamfi
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Crawley, West Sussex
Posts: 9,255
ITV1 and C4 analogue do seem to have deteriorated on CH33/30.
radamfi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012, 07:19
Mark C
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Hampshire
Posts: 4,614
Has anyone else experienced improvement in signal stats for multiplexes supposedly unrelated to the DSO1 change?

My reception of the HD Mux on C31 has improved appreciably (Quality increase 53 to 86%, Pre-FEC reduced 1.4E-2 to 7E-3, C/N increased from 19dB to 23dB) and Mux A on C32 has seen a slight improvement in Quality & C/N.

Don't quite see how the removal of C25 low power digital and high power analogue being replaced with high power digital on C23 would cause an improvement on C31 & 32
Reigate's Mux 1 that was on Ch 31 was switched off yesterday ?
Mark C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012, 07:24
Mark C
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Hampshire
Posts: 4,614
ITV1 and C4 analogue do seem to have deteriorated on CH33/30.
Yes, and BBC 1 has here in Basingstoke too. All the analogues look exactly the same as C5 analogue, strength wise.

I do have it on very good authority, that Croydon is not being used in its back up capacity, which surprises me, because looking at the signal strengths, I'd have said it was !

I'll see if I can double check
Mark C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012, 09:20
figrin_dan
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,274
Has anyone else experienced improvement in signal stats for multiplexes supposedly unrelated to the DSO1 change?

My reception of the HD Mux on C31 has improved appreciably (Quality increase 53 to 86%, Pre-FEC reduced 1.4E-2 to 7E-3, C/N increased from 19dB to 23dB) and Mux A on C32 has seen a slight improvement in Quality & C/N.

Don't quite see how the removal of C25 low power digital and high power analogue being replaced with high power digital on C23 would cause an improvement on C31 & 32
I've been watching C31 for a few months and, while the level has stayed pretty flat, the MER (similar numbers to C/N) has been jumping between 16, 18 and 24dB. It is now at 21dB. All other muxes (except C25!) remain the same.
figrin_dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012, 10:30
albertd
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Crawley, W. Sussex
Posts: 7,018
A possible reason for apparent improvements in the Ch31 signal could be the closing of the vertically polarised Mux at Reigate, which could have been having a slight detrimental effect on Crystal Palace.
albertd is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012, 11:13
kasg
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: West Sussex (Crystal Palace)
Posts: 2,502
A possible reason for apparent improvements in the Ch31 signal could be the closing of the vertically polarised Mux at Reigate, which could have been having a slight detrimental effect on Crystal Palace.
That's what I had hoped, but as per my earlier post it made no difference.
kasg is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012, 11:14
kasg
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: West Sussex (Crystal Palace)
Posts: 2,502
ITV1 and C4 analogue do seem to have deteriorated on CH33/30.
The analogue signal is well down on what it was here, back to the period a couple of months before DSO1. BBC1 is the best of a bad lot.
kasg is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012, 11:19
fmradiotuner1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: TheEssexSunshineCoast Clacton
Posts: 12,472
My analogue signal is really poor here its like what five is like on my video and can only just pick it up here.
fmradiotuner1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012, 11:24
albertd
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Crawley, W. Sussex
Posts: 7,018
A possible reason for apparent improvements in the Ch31 signal could be the closing of the vertically polarised Mux at Reigate, which could have been having a slight detrimental effect on Crystal Palace.
That's what I had hoped, but as per my earlier post it made no difference.
Yes, I saw that. However, others are noting apparent improvements in the CP HD signals for some reason.
albertd is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012, 12:51
Colin_London
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Essex
Posts: 2,671
A possible reason for apparent improvements in the Ch31 signal could be the closing of the vertically polarised Mux at Reigate, which could have been having a slight detrimental effect on Crystal Palace.
Certainly a possibility. I'm 20 miles NNE of CP so Reigate is probably within my aerials beamwidth. I take it Reigate C31 going off will enable more people to the SW of CP to get HD reception ahead of DSO2.
Colin_London is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012, 12:57
Kargo
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Essex, UK
Posts: 5,722
Yep I made a post yesterday how I can now receive the HD mux on my bedroom TV using an indoor aerial without the need of a booster when before DSO1 I needed to have the booster switched on at the mains to pick it up.

The BBCA mux comes through at 60% / 100 % with no booster attached, with it plugged in it comes in at 80% / 100% however weirdly it will then break up and the strength will plummet down to 20% - any idea why this could be?
Kargo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012, 15:04
Ray Cathode
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Guildford / Crystal Palace
Posts: 13,114
Yep I made a post yesterday how I can now receive the HD mux on my bedroom TV using an indoor aerial without the need of a booster when before DSO1 I needed to have the booster switched on at the mains to pick it up.

The BBCA mux comes through at 60% / 100 % with no booster attached, with it plugged in it comes in at 80% / 100% however weirdly it will then break up and the strength will plummet down to 20% - any idea why this could be?
Classic overloading symptoms?
Ray Cathode is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 19:29.