Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

Question about move to BT Infinity


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 14-04-2012, 19:30
dazb
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Manchester UK.
Posts: 2,533

Im currently with Be Broadband i want to move to BT Infinity. My landline is with Be i changed it about 5 weeks ago, will i be ok to get my mac code from Be and fill out an order for BT Infinity because i still use a BT Number.
dazb is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 14-04-2012, 20:12
*MikeB*
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 4,807
You don't need a MAC to move over to Infinity.
*MikeB* is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-04-2012, 21:08
dazb
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Manchester UK.
Posts: 2,533
Are you sure so i just call up Be and cancel, i thought it was normal practice to get a maccode to move to another ISP.
dazb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-04-2012, 21:12
Hurlley
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Leicester
Posts: 1,852
not with infinity, you are reverting back to just having a phone line as far as Be are concerned. Who provides your telephone service / pay your line rental to?

Infinity is provided from the cabinet near your house an engineer will visit to connect your line to it.

edit: if you do it right you could have ADSL with Be and after the engineer has been you will have Infinity, that way you won't lose the internet except while the engineer is there.
Hurlley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-04-2012, 21:30
dazb
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Manchester UK.
Posts: 2,533
All that im really concerned about is that i changed my landline to Be, even though its still a BT Number i will be ok then just going ahead and filling out the Order for BTInfinity on Monday. I will phone Be on Monday and cancel they say i have to give 30 days notice when u call up to cancel.
dazb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-04-2012, 21:40
Hurlley
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Leicester
Posts: 1,852
All that im really concerned about is that i changed my landline to Be, even though its still a BT Number i will be ok then just going ahead and filling out the Order for BTInfinity on Monday. I will phone Be on Monday and cancel they say i have to give 30 days notice when u call up to cancel.
In the ordering process they usually ask you for your number and postcode, your voice will be moved to BT. BT will talk to Be directly the end user you are not part of the process (its not like mobile phone PAC code) to switch the line to BT. I would certainly give them a call to keep your number though as they are likely to assign you a new number, at the end of the day it is BT they won't care if you don't. If is things go wrong and you are given a new number your old one is not lost, you just have to kick up a fuss.

edit: oh if you want to keep your number you don't need to "cancel" with be just let them know your intentions and cancel the broadband side of it, the telephone side of it will stop when BT take the line back.
Hurlley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-04-2012, 21:54
dazb
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Manchester UK.
Posts: 2,533
sorry im more confused than ever now, im not bothered if they have to change my number i dont use the line for telephone calls just the internet. If its this hard just to switch over to BT Infinity i might as well leave it. This all sounds very complicated,
dazb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-04-2012, 22:39
Hurlley
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Leicester
Posts: 1,852
I may have confused you with my bad English. If you are not bothered about keeping your number then just do what you were going to do. I just suggest you call both providers and ask each them the best way to proceed just to make sure there is nothing to worry about, and then you make a decision on which to do.
Hurlley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-04-2012, 22:50
jsmith99
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 14,278
sorry im more confused than ever now, im not bothered if they have to change my number i dont use the line for telephone calls just the internet. If its this hard just to switch over to BT Infinity i might as well leave it. This all sounds very complicated,
I imagine it's something both BT and Be (whoever that might be) have come across many times before. You could either talk to BT first, or post a query on one of BT's forums:

http://community.bt.com/
jsmith99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-04-2012, 00:03
BKM
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 5,755
Im currently with Be Broadband i want to move to BT Infinity. My landline is with Be i changed it about 5 weeks ago, will i be ok to get my mac code from Be and fill out an order for BT Infinity because i still use a BT Number.
All that im really concerned about is that i changed my landline to Be, even though its still a BT Number i will be ok then just going ahead and filling out the Order for BTInfinity on Monday. I will phone Be on Monday and cancel they say i have to give 30 days notice when u call up to cancel.
No, no! The way to do it is via BT.....you tell THEM you want Infinity and this will need the phone line back from Be. BT tell OpenReach, Be and whoever needs to know.

You may, at some point, need to contact Be to give then a one month's notice. I would leave this until AFTER BT confim a date.
BKM is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 15-04-2012, 00:18
d'@ve
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Darn Sarf
Posts: 20,843
No, no! The way to do it is via BT.....you tell THEM you want Infinity and this will need the phone line back from Be. BT tell OpenReach, Be and whoever needs to know.

You may, at some point, need to contact Be to give then a one month's notice. I would leave this until AFTER BT confim a date.
That only matters if he wants to keep his existing phone number, which he doesn't.

All he needs to do is place an order for a brand new line + Infinity, which BT are currently doing free or charge. Online or phone them, it matters not.

To make sure there is no mess up, and if he doesn't mind a few weeks' overlap, he can give BE notice to cancel once he's happy his new BT line is up and running well.

That's what I did. One month's overlapping rental is a small price to pay for the peace of mind IMO, but it's up to him.
d'@ve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-04-2012, 11:03
dazb
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Manchester UK.
Posts: 2,533
Well im asming i have a BT line because i done a line checker result and it came back saying what i can get with BTinfinity, even though i pay BeBroadband currently for my montly line rental. I will order BTInfinity tomorrow as i stated im not bothered about keeping my excisting number because i dont my calls of the line, im not to keen on waiting a few weeks without any internet though. Just one question with regards to calling Be should i ask for a mac code i know its been said that i dont need one but can i get some clarification on that, and what exactly does this 30 days notice mean, if i call them up and cancel how long will my internet be up for,
dazb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-04-2012, 12:15
whoever,hey
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 29,886
The MAC code is to transfer, your ADSL supplier, but infinity is not ADSL it is FTTC (fibre to the cabinet). You also dont need microfilters with FTTC.
whoever,hey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-04-2012, 12:32
dazb
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Manchester UK.
Posts: 2,533
So bottom line is if i want to keep my excisting number how long will it take to get Infinity up and running.
dazb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-04-2012, 16:47
*MikeB*
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 4,807
So bottom line is if i want to keep my excisting number how long will it take to get Infinity up and running.
I give up! Now you do want to keep your existing number?

You DO NOT need a MAC so forget about that. Why not just phone BT and tell them what you want to do, they'll answer your question about the phone number. They'll just port your number over from Be though, it's really no big deal and isn't as complicated as you're making it out to be.
*MikeB* is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-04-2012, 18:14
dazb
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Manchester UK.
Posts: 2,533
Im gonna keep my excisting number now, and MIkeB it may be easy to you but for people who have never changed an ISP before i was merely asking for some advice im sorry if im not as educated as yourself when it comes to things like this. Its not a case of making it complicated i just want everything to be right and if that means asking questions then so be it.
dazb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-04-2012, 19:03
BKM
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 5,755
So bottom line is if i want to keep my excisting number how long will it take to get Infinity up and running.
Less than 2 weeks normally! BT will book this with OpenReach and it depends on when they get.
BKM is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 15-04-2012, 19:06
dazb
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Manchester UK.
Posts: 2,533
Thanks BKM.
dazb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-04-2012, 14:17
jackthom
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Northumberland
Posts: 4,077
Im gonna keep my excisting number now, and MIkeB it may be easy to you but for people who have never changed an ISP before i was merely asking for some advice im sorry if im not as educated as yourself when it comes to things like this. Its not a case of making it complicated i just want everything to be right and if that means asking questions then so be it.
Don't be afraid to ask questions, you're not the only one who's learned something here.

I was worried that changing over from O2 to BT infinity might lead to some loss of service. As my daughter is in the thick of final year University work and needs a reliable connection to their network I was going to wait a while before jumping ship.

The fact there is no MAC required and the ADSL can continue running right up to the BT engineers visit is very good news indeed for me.
jackthom is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 21-04-2012, 15:40
dazb
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Manchester UK.
Posts: 2,533
Well just had a text from BT now saying my BTInfinity will not be installed on the same day as your telephone service which was to be 1st May. One of our team will contact you by 02/05/12 by 8pm to advise you of new BT Infinity appointment. Not very happy at all about that ive got a number here to contact them so Monday im straight on the phone.
dazb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-04-2012, 15:50
Hurlley
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Leicester
Posts: 1,852
Well just had a text from BT now saying my BTInfinity will not be installed on the same day as your telephone service which was to be 1st May. One of our team will contact you by 02/05/12 by 8pm to advise you of new BT Infinity appointment. Not very happy at all about that ive got a number here to contact them so Monday im straight on the phone.
If that is the case you will loose your internet so yes get a date where both can happen.
Hurlley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-04-2012, 16:01
dazb
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Manchester UK.
Posts: 2,533
By that im assuming the line will be activated on the 1st May as already planned its just the BTInifiny appointment will be changed, it says your BTInfinity will not be installed the same day as thelephone service.
dazb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-04-2012, 17:54
Rodney
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Craigavon, Northern Ireland
Posts: 2,133
I give up! Now you do want to keep your existing number?

You DO NOT need a MAC so forget about that. Why not just phone BT and tell them what you want to do, they'll answer your question about the phone number. They'll just port your number over from Be though, it's really no big deal and isn't as complicated as you're making it out to be.
Hi Mike, you DO need a MAC code if you are going from ADSL to FTTC - I had to get one from my broadband supplier for BT - was asked twice to do it!
Rodney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-04-2012, 18:03
Hurlley
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Leicester
Posts: 1,852
By that im assuming the line will be activated on the 1st May as already planned its just the BTInifiny appointment will be changed, it says your BTInfinity will not be installed the same day as thelephone service.
okay so two things are going to happen your switching your PHONE line back to BT. the second is you are getting FTTC BT Infinity

On 1st of May only your phone line is switching to BT. From what I know this means your equipment will change from Be to BT. This means you will loose your be broadband as well.

What one would hope is that if you were to have infinity installed on Monday at the same time you would not loose the internet.
Hurlley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-04-2012, 18:10
dazb
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Manchester UK.
Posts: 2,533
Just got off the Phone to BT wanted to know what was going on, i was told my line will be activated on the 1st may but the Installation couldnt go ahead on same day as the cabinet was faulty round the corner so i will have to wait for them to contact me before the 02/05/12.
dazb is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 13:07.