Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 
 

HD(R)-FOX T2 beta software 1.02.27


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-04-2012, 11:38
Greebo
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 857

Looks like there's a new beta version out at http://beta.humaxonline.co.uk/freeview-hd-t2

From the release notes for the HD version:
- Improved Audio Description volume levels
- Reliabilty improvement
- Modified on screen messages regarding Network changes / re-tuning
- Universal Remote feedback messages on screen
When a mode button is pressed on the remote (PVR, TV, DVD, Audio) an image appears on screen.
If a mode button is pressed in error when trying to control the Humax product user is informed on screen to press the PVR button.
and from the HDR release notes:

- HDD Test option added to Data Storage menu
- Improved Audio Description volume levels
- Reliabilty improvement
- Modified on screen messages regarding Network changes / re-tuning
- Universal Remote feedback messages on screen
When a mode button is pressed on the remote (PVR, TV, DVD, Audio) an image appears on screen.
If a mode button is pressed in error when trying to control the Humax product user is informed on screen to press the PVR button.
Greebo is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 12-04-2012, 11:56
Old Blue
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Portsmouth
Posts: 65
I'm confused, I bought mine last week and it has version 1.02.26, though looking at the Humsax site it appears the latest official version is 1.02.20?

1.02.26 seems to have most of the new features applicable to .27
Old Blue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 12:11
Martin Liddle
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,903
I'm confused, I bought mine last week and it has version 1.02.26, though looking at the Humsax site it appears the latest official version is 1.02.20?

1.02.26 seems to have most of the new features applicable to .27
The latest version released OTA is as you say 1.02.20. 1.02.26 has one or two bugs and so was not released OTAbut was used in production for a while. 1.02.27 is essentially a bug fixing version for 1.00.26 and will be released OTA unless any major problems are found during the beta release.
Martin Liddle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 23:45
ChrisE
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: North Somerset
Posts: 1,176
I wonder if it will enable the playing of x264/mp4 files that seem to ousting avi, as the most popular file format.
ChrisE is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 13-04-2012, 12:32
Me
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Cambridgeshire
Posts: 669
Just don't do what I did - spend 30 mins wondering why it won't recognise the update, try 3 USB sticks, download the update again - only to realise that I was trying to install the HD update on an HDR machine!
Me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-04-2012, 20:48
xtaz
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Bristol
Posts: 258
I wonder if it will enable the playing of x264/mp4 files that seem to ousting avi, as the most popular file format.
My box is running the .20 firmware from june 2011 and it happily plays all x264 .mp4 files streamed from my DLNA server. Works with mp3 or aac/ac3 audio. Even .mkv files work fine as long as I repack the video and audio tracks into a .mp4 container instead using ffmpeg. Never tried them from usb though.
xtaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-04-2012, 15:52
Me
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Cambridgeshire
Posts: 669

From the HDR release notes:

If a mode button is pressed in error when trying to control the Humax product user is informed on screen to press the PVR button.

Can someone explain this?

I often press TV or Audio while watching the PVR - e.g. to adjust volume or TV aspect ratio etc.

How can it tell that a button push is "in error"

And how does it know that I'm even watching the PVR? It may be on, but I could have another source selected on the TV.

And, despite several attempts, I haven't yet been able to forc it to produce the message.

I'm puzzled
Me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-04-2012, 17:10
dragon-it
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Wordsley, West Mids
Posts: 452
And, despite several attempts, I haven't yet been able to forc it to produce the message.

I'm puzzled
I think it is not quite as suggested. IMO all it does is recognise the pressing of the four selection buttons and put a relevant icon on the screen. It does not (on mine anyway) respond to any of the other buttons to show the icon. After all it should be ignoring those codes.

So if you have the TV showing the Humax screen and press "PVR" then it shows "PVR" in the middle of the screen etc.

Aside from some problems I had with it crashing when adding a package (redring I think) before 1.0.27 this has seemed no less stable than the 1.0.20 version for me yet. Doesn't do much else apart from the "PVR" logo mind, would much rather it had support fort the IP TV channels or other bugs fixed!!
dragon-it is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-04-2012, 21:19
Mickey_T
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2,580
My box is running the .20 firmware from june 2011 and it happily plays all x264 .mp4 files streamed from my DLNA server. Works with mp3 or aac/ac3 audio. Even .mkv files work fine as long as I repack the video and audio tracks into a .mp4 container instead using ffmpeg. Never tried them from usb though.
I can play MP4 files and MKV too. The only problem I have with MKV is that when played back they're squashed into 4:3 ratio. If I repack them as MP4 then they're 16:9. Strange.
Mickey_T is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 15-04-2012, 22:18
Greebo
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 857
And, despite several attempts, I haven't yet been able to forc it to produce the message.
I've not seen these messages come up either. Apparently there are two types of remotes shipped with the HD(R)-FOX T2 boxes. Those with an "ADR 1.0" sticker inside the battery bay won't trigger the warnings, remotes marked "MDR 1.3" will do. Strange!

(Source: Barry @ http://myhumax.org/forum/topic/softw...le-to-download )
Greebo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-04-2012, 22:29
dragon-it
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Wordsley, West Mids
Posts: 452
I've not seen these messages come up either. Apparently there are two types of remotes shipped with the HD(R)-FOX T2 boxes. Those with an "ADR 1.0" sticker inside the battery bay won't trigger the warnings, remotes marked "MDR 1.3" will do. Strange!

(Source: Barry @ http://myhumax.org/forum/topic/softw...le-to-download )
Odd. Logically the remote shouldn't, and doesn't need to send any signal out when the "PVR" or other button is pressed, after all it is just to amend the settings within the remote itself. Presumably then certain revisions do send a code so they thought they might aswell respond to it?!
dragon-it is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-04-2012, 22:36
Greebo
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 857
Odd. Logically the remote shouldn't, and doesn't need to send any signal out when the "PVR" or other button is pressed, after all it is just to amend the settings within the remote itself. Presumably then certain revisions do send a code so they thought they might aswell respond to it?!
Confirmed that my ADR remote doesn't transmit IR for the four mode buttons. (Liveview on my camera can see IR)
Greebo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-04-2012, 12:32
Mickey_T
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2,580
still no fix for the green line issue if using 576i/p with overscan off on your tv.
Mickey_T is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 18-04-2012, 21:43
ChrisE
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: North Somerset
Posts: 1,176
My box is running the .20 firmware from june 2011 and it happily plays all x264 .mp4 files streamed from my DLNA server. Works with mp3 or aac/ac3 audio. Even .mkv files work fine as long as I repack the video and audio tracks into a .mp4 container instead using ffmpeg. Never tried them from usb though.
I have an x264/mp4 file, in a test folder on my laptop, that the Humax 'sees', but I get 'cannot support this file format' message when I try to play it.

I have since aquired some more files and it just doesn't recognise them. So I shall stick to avis for now.
ChrisE is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 19-04-2012, 09:33
bushmaster
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 37
I can play MP4 files and MKV too. The only problem I have with MKV is that when played back they're squashed into 4:3 ratio. If I repack them as MP4 then they're 16:9. Strange.
Press the WIDE button on the remote one or more times until the mode is AUTO.
bushmaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-04-2012, 13:50
mansergh
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: North West
Posts: 86
I've not seen these messages come up either. Apparently there are two types of remotes shipped with the HD(R)-FOX T2 boxes. Those with an "ADR 1.0" sticker inside the battery bay won't trigger the warnings, remotes marked "MDR 1.3" will do. Strange!

(Source: Barry @ http://myhumax.org/forum/topic/softw...le-to-download )
What about "ADB 1.0" and "MDB 1.3" remote controls.
mansergh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-04-2012, 16:39
Greebo
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 857
Oops! ADB/MDB it is. That would also be EBKAC
Greebo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-04-2012, 17:37
xtaz
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Bristol
Posts: 258
I have an x264/mp4 file, in a test folder on my laptop, that the Humax 'sees', but I get 'cannot support this file format' message when I try to play it.

I have since aquired some more files and it just doesn't recognise them. So I shall stick to avis for now.
I would blame this on whatever software is on your laptop that you are using. I'm personally using something called mediatomb. Originally it was set up with lots of tweaks so that it worked with a samsung TV that I had before and then when I tried it on the humax I had the same error saying 'cannot support this file format'.

To begin with I thought it was just the humax having rubbish support but then I decided to redo the config file I had from scratch one day. Removed the tweaks and tried it, and it worked perfectly on both .avi and .mp4. The only files I have issue with is .mkv. For those I need to extract the h264 and audio tracks from the container and repack them into a .mp4 container. Then it plays fine. I suspect I can make this work with some more tweaks to do this on the fly but I haven't revisited it yet.

If your box says unsupported format using standard mp4 files I would suspect the mime type is being sent as something the humax isn't expecting for mp4 content and it's probably trying to play it as avi or something.
xtaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-05-2012, 01:00
Everything Goes
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: In the future....
Posts: 9,106
Confirmed that my ADR remote doesn't transmit IR for the four mode buttons. (Liveview on my camera can see IR)
I tried this myself and was amazed to see it works

Its cool that the camera can see stuff I cant
Everything Goes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-05-2012, 01:04
whoever,hey
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 29,214
So if you have the TV showing the Humax screen and press "PVR" then it shows "PVR" in the middle of the screen etc.
It only does that on the recent 3rd party firmware.
whoever,hey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-05-2012, 09:50
Martin Liddle
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,903
It only does that on the recent 3rd party firmware.
No. From the 1.02.27 release notes:

"When a mode button is pressed on the remote (PVR, TV, DVD, Audio) an image appears on screen.
If a mode button is pressed in error when trying to control the Humax product user is informed on screen to press the PVR
button."
Martin Liddle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-05-2012, 15:06
pilgrim42
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Lytham-St.Annes Lancs.
Posts: 282
Since upgrading to 1.02.27 I've been unable to download anything (even previously viewed stuff) on Youtube - I get an error message or else the download carries on for ever. Is this the new firmware, or a glitch on the portal?
Mike.
pilgrim42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-05-2012, 18:12
Martin Liddle
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,903
Since upgrading to 1.02.27 I've been unable to download anything (even previously viewed stuff) on Youtube - I get an error message or else the download carries on for ever. Is this the new firmware, or a glitch on the portal?
There has been a similar report on another Forum. I suggest contacting Humax and asking them. The other person with the problem reverted to 1.00.20 and that fixed the problem which is suggestive.
Martin Liddle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-05-2012, 21:05
pilgrim42
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Lytham-St.Annes Lancs.
Posts: 282
It's all working perfectly now, and I didn't do anything - honest!
Mike.
pilgrim42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2012, 11:55
pilgrim42
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Lytham-St.Annes Lancs.
Posts: 282
Spoke too soon - after a couple of hours working perfectly, the same problem recurred. Switching off as far as the router and restarting everything didn't cure it. All other services (WikiTV, Picasa, iPlayer) working fine, but Youtube knackered.
Odd.
Mike.
pilgrim42 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 18:18.