Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 
 

Samsung Galaxy S2 ICS update - UK


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 20-04-2012, 21:27
m4tt24
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 743
Hmm...I'm not wholly convinced official ICS firmware is all that. I think I may flash Resurrection Remix (Pro or vanilla - not decided yet) - supposed to be a mix of CM9+official firmware+others. Its had rave reviews. Anyone tried this ROM?
Just try CM9 first i've not had any issues at all. Did a clean install and I have no reason to change or try other mixed up versions. CM9 and all the roms will have parts from official in them to work in the first place.
m4tt24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 21-04-2012, 06:58
Party Animal
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 966
Updated my wifes Orange SG2 last night via Kies and the upgrade all went well
after playing with her phone a bit I am having trouble with the contacts only showing 3 of her lesser used contacts

if while contacts is open I get the option to change it to where I can see all the contacts but after use it just defaults back to the same 3 lesser used contacts which is annoying
how do i change it ??
Party Animal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-04-2012, 09:17
WillowMan
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: West Midlands
Posts: 230
Updated my wifes Orange SG2 last night via Kies and the upgrade all went well
after playing with her phone a bit I am having trouble with the contacts only showing 3 of her lesser used contacts

if while contacts is open I get the option to change it to where I can see all the contacts but after use it just defaults back to the same 3 lesser used contacts which is annoying
how do i change it ??
I had trouble with contacts when I first bought a SG2. I saw each contact twice. Contacts can be stored on either the SIM or the phone. It may be the upgrade has switched the default contacts location from SIM to phone or vice-versa.
WillowMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-04-2012, 09:39
Party Animal
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 966
The contacts now seems to have sorted itself out somehow... not sure what has happened but they are now as should be

after playing with ICS for the last few hours and watching a few you tube vids about ICS
it really does have some cool features

I cannot seem to find NFC or Androind beam!!! looking through all the settings I just cannot see it
can some kind soul please tell me where I should be looking in version 4.0.3

the vids on you tube show version 4.01 and the settings on there look different to this newer version and as such I cannot find it
thanks
Chris
Party Animal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-04-2012, 10:06
paulbrock
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Wapping, London
Posts: 15,519
I cannot seem to find NFC or Androind beam!!! looking through all the settings I just cannot see it
can some kind soul please tell me where I should be looking in version 4.0.3
nfc is a hardware feature; the later s2s have it, and can presumably use beam, the earlier ones do not.
paulbrock is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 21-04-2012, 10:11
Party Animal
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 966
nfc is a hardware feature; the later s2s have it, and can presumably use beam, the earlier ones do not.
Well that is disappointing this is the wifes phone and hopefully when my Galaxy Note gets ICS it would of been nice to have been able to use this NFC

I guess that plan is down the toilet now
Party Animal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-04-2012, 10:17
paulbrock
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Wapping, London
Posts: 15,519
like I said depends on when you got it. The first UK models, inc mine, purchased around June time, didn't, the later s2's did.

There have been various ways proposed to increase NFC uptake., including bundling it into an SD card or taping it to the back of the phone, Barclaycard style.
paulbrock is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 21-04-2012, 10:23
Party Animal
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 966
like I said depends on when you got it. The first UK models, inc mine, purchased around June time, didn't, the later s2's did.

There have been various ways proposed to increase NFC uptake., including bundling it into an SD card or taping it to the back of the phone, Barclaycard style.
I got the SG2 about a year ago for the wife and it had been out quite a while when I got it for her
so I would not say its an early model but trouble is you never know how long they have been sat in afactory wiating to be dispatched etc

I guess it must be old stock as presumably the NFC option would be in the settings
thanks for your input
Party Animal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-04-2012, 10:52
WillowMan
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: West Midlands
Posts: 230
like I said depends on when you got it. The first UK models, inc mine, purchased around June time, didn't, the later s2's did.

There have been various ways proposed to increase NFC uptake., including bundling it into an SD card or taping it to the back of the phone, Barclaycard style.
I bought mine in December but I can't find it in the menus.
On ICS if it is there is it under Settings - More...?
WillowMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-04-2012, 10:55
southlad
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 946
Since I updated my battery isn't lasting as long. Prob about 50% less.

Anyone else had this?
southlad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-04-2012, 11:15
Beer_Monster
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 105
I bought my S2 through Orange last month, just upgraded the firmware via Kies, but it just upgraded from gingerbread 2.3.5 to 2.3.6 and say's there are no other up updates.

Any ideas?
Beer_Monster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-04-2012, 12:15
SkyPaulusPlus
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: England
Posts: 3,753
I bought my S2 through Orange last month, just upgraded the firmware via Kies, but it just upgraded from gingerbread 2.3.5 to 2.3.6 and say's there are no other up updates.

Any ideas?
The NFC S2 hasnt been updated yet (i9100p)
SkyPaulusPlus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-04-2012, 14:52
WillowMan
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: West Midlands
Posts: 230
My model number for my G2 is GT-I9100 which I now gather is not NFC enabled despite only being purchased last December from Amazon. I think that the NFC enabled model is GT-I9100P.

I'm not sure that not having an NFC enabled phone is a bad thing given that there is a security risk of other people obtaining personal details about you by placing their phone next to yours. I can however see a potential advantage of NFC in having apps to make small cashless purchases, as library cards or for gaining access to buildings etc
WillowMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-04-2012, 17:20
John of Wight
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 1
Just upgraded a SG S2 on Virgin to ICS, using fresh download of Kies from Samsung, which offered me a firmware upgrade which turned out to be Android 4.0.3. Works well.
John of Wight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-04-2012, 18:25
BasilQT
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: London
Posts: 8
If you don't already know, the Galaxy S3 will be launched in May. Quad core, full HD display 320 dpi, 4.6 Super AMOLED screen, and improved battery. Hard to get accurate spec details, anything from 1.4 to 1.8 GHz, and either 8 or 12MP camera, NFC support as standard. Will come pre-loaded with ICS ofc.

http://www.engadget.com/2012/04/16/s...3rd-in-london/

http://feedproxy.google.com/~r/andro...Js/story01.htm
BasilQT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-04-2012, 20:35
Jakatta75
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 56
Since I updated my battery isn't lasting as long. Prob about 50% less.

Anyone else had this?
I've had the same thing. I can't figure out what's using my battery so much. It doesn't last a day, and Im not using it any differently to before the ICS update.
Jakatta75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-04-2012, 21:16
craggers
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Preston
Posts: 3,599
I've had the same thing. I can't figure out what's using my battery so much. It doesn't last a day, and Im not using it any differently to before the ICS update.
I've downgraded from ICS to gingerbread for this exact issue.
craggers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-04-2012, 00:56
Everything Goes
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: In the future....
Posts: 9,109
Unlocked Version Available Now

ICS is now available for unlocked Galaxy S2
Everything Goes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-04-2012, 01:22
Everything Goes
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: In the future....
Posts: 9,109
Can I ask anyone who has ICS to check something for me?

Can you go into

Settings
Wireless and Network
Mobile Network
Network Mode

If you could list the network modes available that would be great. Gingerbread has:

GSM/WCDMA (Auto mode)
GSM only
WCDMA only

I suspect ICS has changed these options?
Everything Goes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-04-2012, 07:17
cribology
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,949

GSM/WCDMA (Auto mode)
GSM only
WCDMA only

I suspect ICS has changed these options?
No ICS has the same options
cribology is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-04-2012, 10:04
Everything Goes
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: In the future....
Posts: 9,109
No ICS has the same options
Thanks you
Everything Goes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-04-2012, 10:07
Everything Goes
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: In the future....
Posts: 9,109
Here are a few quotes from Sony with their assessment of ICS performance issues. Very interesting!


Another interesting thing is that many apps use slightly more RAM in ICS. For example, the web browser is quite intensive, and our measurements indicate that it uses 20-30MB more in ICS compared to Gingerbread. All in all, there are a lot of changes that together result in greater RAM requirement.... when running a heavy game that uses all available RAM, the activity manager will be forced to kill all processes running in the background. This might include vital functions like the dialler and even the Home screen application. When you exit your game, there is a risk that the phone is perceived as slow, since the Home screen app will have to be restarted, just like every other activity you access afterwards.


Another change in ICS compared to Gingerbread is that Google has moved a lot of the SQL handling from the native to the Java layer. In our internal studies, we have seen that read and write operations to the SQL database takes longer time, which slows down the apps. Many applications perform a lot of SQL operations when started, which greatly impacts the start-up time... This can result in a user experience that is perceived as slower and less stable, due to longer response times and increased ANRs.


When we performed internal tests on our applications, we saw that the Settings app consumed 1-2MB more RAM, and actually took longer time to start with HW acceleration, compared to without. Once the app is running, the UI is HW accelerated, but unless the app performs advanced graphics, the user will not see the difference.Another effect of the hardware acceleration is that it can make the battery drain faster in some cases. An example of this is video playback, where the hardware acceleration requires every video frame to be run through the GPU, thus making the system use more power than it would have without HW acceleration.


http://developer.sonymobile.com/wp/2...bread-and-ics/
Everything Goes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-04-2012, 10:37
southlad
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 946
I've downgraded from ICS to gingerbread for this exact issue.
I would like to downgrade, can you tell me how?
southlad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-04-2012, 11:08
Schadenfreud
Guest
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 1,292
I would like to downgrade, can you tell me how?
Me too.
Schadenfreud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-04-2012, 11:18
Everything Goes
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: In the future....
Posts: 9,109
I would like to downgrade, can you tell me how?
I suspect this will involve rooting it and putting the GB Rom on it.
Everything Goes is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:39.