Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

Netflix is Coming


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 22-04-2012, 20:50
Ryan11
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 3,910
Is anyone else's Netflix constantly rebuffering? Mine just started doing it this week, it's been fine for 3 months.

I think the contents good. It could be better, but I'll give it time. I couldn't believe it had Melrose Place 2.0 I'm watching 90210 and The Hills now
Ryan11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 22-04-2012, 20:55
suedehead
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 83
Is anyone else's Netflix constantly rebuffering? Mine just started doing it this week, it's been fine for 3 months.

I think the contents good. It could be better, but I'll give it time. I couldn't believe it had Melrose Place 2.0 I'm watching 90210 and The Hills now
Mine's been exactly the same, and today I noticed that the video quality was not so good at times.
suedehead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-04-2012, 21:04
Ryan11
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 3,910
Mine's been exactly the same, and today I noticed that the video quality was not so good at times.
That's been happening too, it goes from HD to normal all the time.
Ryan11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-04-2012, 21:07
-GONZO-
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Kent
Posts: 7,850
I've not suffered any rebuffering myself on Wii and it's been on pretty much alot during the evenings.
Quality wise looks the same as always, but then there's no HD on Wii.
-GONZO- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-04-2012, 21:26
rottweiler
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: England
Posts: 2,454
yea i had some this morning (2am) kept stopping for 20 seconds then continued ok, about 4 time in total
I was on the USA version
rottweiler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-04-2012, 23:11
bazzer00
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 21
No probs with mine. Working fine all week.
bazzer00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-04-2012, 17:01
Mythica
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 2,122
Hey, I posted in this thread before and not sure if I really got the answer I was looking for, anyway. How many seperate devices can I have on one account CAPABLE of using Netflix? For instance, we have one computer, two laptops, two phones, and two games consoles. Can all of these be used on one account or does it limit you to say, 4 devices? If it does limit you, is it easily changeable, for instance to delete the PS3 of as a registered device and add TiVo when the app becomes available?

Next is how many devices can you actually use to stream nextflix on at the same time. Say if I was upstairs and someone was downstairs, that's two, what if someone comes around and goes into a spare bedroom, can they be the third person or does it limit the amount of streams at one given time?

How does it work, by account or something like by IP address? Say if I go on holiday to another country, would I still be able to sign in on my account and watch some away from my usual internet connection?

Also, if I signup to Netflix using Facebook, does my Facebook login details then become my Netflix login details? If so, can this be changed easily or when signing up through Facebook, do you still have to create a username and password for Netflix?

Thanks for any answers.
Mythica is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 27-04-2012, 17:43
Chocdoc
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 3,473
Hey, I posted in this thread before and not sure if I really got the answer I was looking for, anyway. How many seperate devices can I have on one account CAPABLE of using Netflix? For instance, we have one computer, two laptops, two phones, and two games consoles. Can all of these be used on one account or does it limit you to say, 4 devices? If it does limit you, is it easily changeable, for instance to delete the PS3 of as a registered device and add TiVo when the app becomes available?

Next is how many devices can you actually use to stream nextflix on at the same time. Say if I was upstairs and someone was downstairs, that's two, what if someone comes around and goes into a spare bedroom, can they be the third person or does it limit the amount of streams at one given time?

How does it work, by account or something like by IP address? Say if I go on holiday to another country, would I still be able to sign in on my account and watch some away from my usual internet connection?

Also, if I signup to Netflix using Facebook, does my Facebook login details then become my Netflix login details? If so, can this be changed easily or when signing up through Facebook, do you still have to create a username and password for Netflix?

Thanks for any answers.
It's something like 50 devices now.
Chocdoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-04-2012, 17:52
-GONZO-
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Kent
Posts: 7,850
Hey, I posted in this thread before and not sure if I really got the answer I was looking for, anyway. How many seperate devices can I have on one account CAPABLE of using Netflix? For instance, we have one computer, two laptops, two phones, and two games consoles. Can all of these be used on one account or does it limit you to say, 4 devices? If it does limit you, is it easily changeable, for instance to delete the PS3 of as a registered device and add TiVo when the app becomes available?

Next is how many devices can you actually use to stream nextflix on at the same time. Say if I was upstairs and someone was downstairs, that's two, what if someone comes around and goes into a spare bedroom, can they be the third person or does it limit the amount of streams at one given time?

How does it work, by account or something like by IP address? Say if I go on holiday to another country, would I still be able to sign in on my account and watch some away from my usual internet connection?

Also, if I signup to Netflix using Facebook, does my Facebook login details then become my Netflix login details? If so, can this be changed easily or when signing up through Facebook, do you still have to create a username and password for Netflix?

Thanks for any answers.
As far as I'm aware you can have many devices linked, according to their FAQs you can only stream on 1 at a time, but I believe you can have 2 on the go at once.
-GONZO- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-04-2012, 17:59
Mythica
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 2,122
As far as I'm aware you can have many devices linked, according to their FAQs you can only stream on 1 at a time, but I believe you can have 2 on the go at once.
Ok, thanks for your help, you to 'chocdoc'. Are you able to confirm whether you can stream two at once? It's a deal breaker for me really.
Mythica is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 27-04-2012, 18:13
-GONZO-
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Kent
Posts: 7,850
Ok, thanks for your help, you to 'chocdoc'. Are you able to confirm whether you can stream two at once? It's a deal breaker for me really.
To be honest with you, I will only do what you could do yourself and use Google to find the answer
-GONZO- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-04-2012, 18:18
Mythica
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 2,122
To be honest with you, I will only do what you could do yourself and use Google to find the answer
Already done it and could not really find what I was looking for.
Mythica is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 27-04-2012, 21:18
Chocdoc
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 3,473
I can confirm it does 2 as I do that all the time with the kids using it. Im pretty sure I've done 3 as well, to my two tv's and an xbox.

http://consumerist.com/2011/06/netfl...eam-video.html
Chocdoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-04-2012, 21:31
Mythica
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 2,122
I can confirm it does 2 as I do that all the time with the kids using it. Im pretty sure I've done 3 as well, to my two tv's and an xbox.

http://consumerist.com/2011/06/netfl...eam-video.html
Cheers for that. Regarding your link and the 50 streaming devices, is this true for the UK Netflix as I presume that article is for the American one due to Netflix UK not being out when the article was written?
Mythica is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 28-04-2012, 00:07
Matt D
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Cambridge
Posts: 11,125
I don't think it matters.

I use US & UK Netflix.

I have it on my PS3, 360, PC, iPhone, iPad, and my wife's iPad.

Just give it a go! You get a trial...


Oh, and regarding your sign-up question... I'd just sign up directly, don't bother doing it via Facebook.
Matt D is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 28-04-2012, 00:12
Mythica
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 2,122
I don't think it matters.

I use US & UK Netflix.

I have it on my PS3, 360, PC, iPhone, iPad, and my wife's iPad.

Just give it a go! You get a trial...


Oh, and regarding your sign-up question... I'd just sign up directly, don't bother doing it via Facebook.
I will give it a try, just waiting for the internet to get better before I start using it. The only reason I asked about Facebook is because I like the idea of sharing what I and others are watching, I just didn't want to use my Facebook login details.
Mythica is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 28-04-2012, 00:30
Matt D
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Cambridge
Posts: 11,125
If you sign up directly, rather than using Facebook, you can still link your account to Facebook if you wish and share your viewing.
Matt D is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 28-04-2012, 00:35
Mythica
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 2,122
If you sign up directly, rather than using Facebook, you can still link your account to Facebook if you wish and share your viewing.
Ok thanks, that's good to know.
Mythica is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 28-04-2012, 11:42
TheCloakroom99
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 374
http://www.pcgamer.name/netflix.htm

Work in progress but useful.
TheCloakroom99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2012, 00:09
jasonT1981
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 192
Anyone elses Un-block US not working on a PS3 now? went to log in, gives me error messages.

When not using the Un-block US dns it works ok.
jasonT1981 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2012, 00:13
coachtrip_fan99
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 1,949
Anyone elses Un-block US not working on a PS3 now? went to log in, gives me error messages.

When not using the Un-block US dns it works ok.
same here.

let me know if you find a solution
coachtrip_fan99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2012, 00:17
jasonT1981
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 192
I got one lol

OK, what I did was reset my PS3 and let it detect all network/internet automatically... thus giving it its default UK IP/DNS. Basically what you would have without unblock US.

restarted PS3, then did the setup again, entered the Unblock US DNS manually again.. that whole process. restarted PS3... Hey presto back on US Netflix.
jasonT1981 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-06-2012, 22:49
Gormond
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Scotland
Posts: 15,335
I was reading Focus magazine as they were reviewing Netflix and said that Netflix recommend 16 Mb/s broadband and I instantly thought that can't be right!

I had a look at Netflix website and it says

Watching instantly works with all different levels of broadband, however, we recommend a minimum speed of 500 kbps (0.5 MB).
So yes it seems Focus are wrong but who wants to tell Netflix that 500 kb is not the same as 0.5 MB
Gormond is online now   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 19:11.