Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

"New" German HD channels (Astra 19.2)


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-05-2012, 08:32
janet owen
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Gwynfryn,Wrexham 1350ASL
Posts: 1,904
have some of these HD transponders been taken off air,ZDFs for example, or has lyngsat got it wrong
http://www.lyngsat.com/hd/Astra-1H-1KR-1L-1M-2C.html
had difficulty finding them Sunday & this morning.
janet owen is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 07-05-2012, 08:54
gianni
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Londinium
Posts: 418
The offending 3-Sat and various ZDF channels are still broadcasting - just confirmed by observation.
gianni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2012, 10:01
janet owen
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Gwynfryn,Wrexham 1350ASL
Posts: 1,904
The offending 3-Sat and various ZDF channels are still broadcasting - just confirmed by observation.
thanks, I note lyngsat & others(KOS) have differing freqs ,will you kindly put up the correct freq for the offenders.Many thanks.
janet owen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2012, 12:01
gianni
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Londinium
Posts: 418
11.347v and 11.362h - as shown on lyngsat but note they are DVB-S2 8PSK @ 22000 with 2/3 FEC
gianni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2012, 23:35
gianni
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Londinium
Posts: 418
Suffered the same jumpy symptoms watching Two Fat Italians on BBC-HD this evening using a Sky-HD 1-terabyte box.
gianni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2012, 06:58
janet owen
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Gwynfryn,Wrexham 1350ASL
Posts: 1,904
11.347v and 11.362h - as shown on lyngsat but note they are DVB-S2 8PSK @ 22000 with 2/3 FEC
Cheers, S2 is OK with my Panasonic, got them now,
janet owen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2012, 10:18
Rolandh
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Gleadless, Sheffield TX
Posts: 1,171
The strangest thing has happened while trying to get the new Geerman HD Channels, when I first setup my 19.2e feed I was unable to get a lock on the TVP Transponder and was unable to get a lock on the new HD Channels today, while adjusting my LNB to lock onto one of the HD Transponders I was also able to lock the TVP Transponder, I'm now about two Transponders short on the German HD Channels.

I've not had any problems with the HD Channels using a Humax Foxsat-HD.

Roland
Rolandh is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 15-05-2012, 13:08
bensgrandad
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: South London & Lancashire UK
Posts: 87
I have a Comag SL100HD box which has always behaved. Since the changes to German channels on Astra in the last couple of days whilst "old" HD channels (ZDF, Servus etc) are ok, the new ones - especially the ARD family - are all jittering madly (for want of a better word). Am I suffering the result of old software and missed updates showing up or are the channels to blame? Signal levels are all OK.
I attempted an OTA software upgrade and it just hung all night. This morning I e-mailed <<james@comag-ag.co.uk>> and within half an hour had a reply with the new files and despite a bit of clumsy fumbling with the files all is now installed and working properly. Credit where credit is due - that is good customer service!
bensgrandad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-05-2012, 15:33
martinwatkins
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,058
Not having noticed problems before, I watched a programme about the Titanic on ZDF Info HD - I say watched, "tried to follow" would be a better description as it was jumping/freezing constantly.

This on both an Aston Simba Fransat box and a TNTsat Humax 5000 box.

It's all very odd.
martinwatkins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-05-2012, 17:47
martinwatkins
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,058
... and two hours or so later ZDFInfo HD is running perfectly on both boxes.

Something very odd going on.
martinwatkins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-05-2012, 22:19
bensgrandad
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: South London & Lancashire UK
Posts: 87
Not having noticed problems before, I watched a programme about the Titanic on ZDF Info HD - I say watched, "tried to follow" would be a better description as it was jumping/freezing constantly.

This on both an Aston Simba Fransat box and a TNTsat Humax 5000 box.

It's all very odd.
My rudimentary German reads the ARD teletext service (Das Erste page 466 / sub page 1) as stating that the transmissions were exactly to spec and that box makers were where the remedy lay. Whilst this is no doubt true, it begs the question why some German HD channels were OK before the switch and still remain OK whilst the new ARD HD ones are in some way different. As I said in an earlier post, COMAG have quickly come up with a software fix which seems to be a plea of guilty to not being up to spec in the first place. So "passing the buck" might not be inappropriate.
bensgrandad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-05-2012, 23:58
jw75
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 373
... and two hours or so later ZDFInfo HD is running perfectly on both boxes.

Something very odd going on.
Did it stop raining?
8PSK modulation causes the signal to fade much more than QPSK.
jw75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-05-2012, 08:06
martinwatkins
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,058
You may have a point jw75. Whilst it wasn't raining at all hard it was drizzling, and the cloud cover (which in my experience can cause even more problems if it's saturated with impending rain!) was thick. I can't now say whether the times corresponded with the weather, but I'll watch out for a connection next time it happens.

I've not seen anything on the French forums about the problem (both my boxes are designed for French satellite TV of course) but that might not be too surprising.....

And come to think of it the BBC 1 HD signal jumped a few times later in the evening (this is in France, where foliage at this time of year droops into the signal path after rain in the case of Astra 2) so I'll have a review of things.
martinwatkins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-05-2012, 23:39
Gneiss
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Cambridgeshire
Posts: 13,959
No problems at all with my cheapest of cheap boxes.... The Ross HD box works fine.
Gneiss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-12-2012, 10:27
gianni
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Londinium
Posts: 418
Would some kind soul give an update on this please?

Does the jumpy German HD channels issue occur on an Icecrypt S3500HD CI+ or the Technomate 5402HD CI+?

Does the CI+ slot work with an HD+ card on these receivers?
gianni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-12-2012, 12:52
logjam
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: North West Devon
Posts: 2,711
No 'Jumping Germans' problems on the Technomate5402HD CI+
logjam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-12-2012, 13:09
gianni
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Londinium
Posts: 418
Thanks Logjam.

I can now confirm no problems with jumping Germans on the Pioneer KRP-600A.
gianni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-12-2012, 17:06
the forgemaster
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Barnsley
Posts: 47
No problems on my Octagon SF118 HD and I'm only on a 35cm dish!
the forgemaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-12-2012, 14:17
Phil Thomas
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 103
No problems on my Octagon SF118 HD and I'm only on a 35cm dish!
The Octagon SF118 HD sounds ideal for FTA channels.
Does it come with an English User Manual?
Phil Thomas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-12-2012, 14:32
T. Tanilsoo
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Laguja, Estonia
Posts: 1,064
HD channels all working fine with cheap Xoro HRS-8500 as well... What I noticed however, looks like at least on my Xoro, the signal quality meter isn't fully up to the task when it comes to DVB-S2 signals. For example once I looked that hey, picture is having issues yet there appears to be sufficient quality. The truth was, dish needed realigning and issues were with weak signal. So I think one possible idea would be to check whether signal is OK. Just a speculation. OK, soapbox over.
T. Tanilsoo is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 31-12-2012, 18:10
the forgemaster
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Barnsley
Posts: 47
The Octagon SF118 HD sounds ideal for FTA channels.
Does it come with an English User Manual?
Mine didn't - fortunately I just ploughed straight in and found the menu setting for English, there was a pre-loaded channel line up for 19.2E already in place, but a blind search was needed for all channels. A very user friendly box, would highly recommend it.
the forgemaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 09:41
Phil Thomas
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 103
Mine didn't - fortunately I just ploughed straight in and found the menu setting for English, there was a pre-loaded channel line up for 19.2E already in place, but a blind search was needed for all channels. A very user friendly box, would highly recommend it.
Many thanks...I think I will go for it if I can dig out the English menu.
Phil Thomas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2013, 19:43
shhftw
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Yorkshire
Posts: 1,692
I just got an Openbox and was wondering why the signal meter was jumping around a bit on some HD channels when most of Astra SD stuff that I picked up on the Tevion was still 73-74% quality.
shhftw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2013, 19:56
gianni
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Londinium
Posts: 418
Would that be on Astra 1 at the upper end of the frequency scale, especially Horizontal polarized?
gianni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2013, 10:04
shhftw
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Yorkshire
Posts: 1,692
Would that be on Astra 1 at the upper end of the frequency scale, especially Horizontal polarized?
First unencrypted channel I can get up that end (according to KoS) is Informartiekanaal 12.722 H 22000 but that's 60-70%, most of the rest of the channels are (V pol) French (France 3 regions) and encrypted, but they show 70-71% signal quality.

Juwelo/Sonnenklar HD is quite bouncy and so is RT HD.

I was more interested in ORF1HD and have adjusted the LNB to get 45-60% quality (from 8-35%) it's only a gaffa installation!

Despite the readings on the box the tuner hangs onto the channels, I just like the comfort of higher numbers

On a nicer day with a proper ladder and a competent mate, I can probably optimise the dish and LNB, but that's a job for warmer weather
shhftw is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:18.