Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

BT Fibre optic BB


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-05-2012, 00:42
whoever,hey
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 29,888
Sure, different to my experience with BT. they throttled everything they could.
I've been with BT for 6 years now. I got 5.5Mbps down when i was on 8meg max, and i used torrents all the time. So that doens't sounds throttled to me.

Now i get 76 in practice, but dont use torrents any more.

When were you on BT when they throttled everything? I've never had that. I got warnings about my usage, but they never throttled.

Are you sure it wasn't just your line quality etc?
whoever,hey is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 08-05-2012, 13:01
anniebrion
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 16,389
Share your secrets.
uTorrent & encryption
anniebrion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2012, 20:16
noise747
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Herefordshire
Posts: 17,475
I've been with BT for 6 years now. I got 5.5Mbps down when i was on 8meg max, and i used torrents all the time. So that doens't sounds throttled to me.

Now i get 76 in practice, but dont use torrents any more.

When were you on BT when they throttled everything? I've never had that. I got warnings about my usage, but they never throttled.

Are you sure it wasn't just your line quality etc?
I migrated from BT 24th May 2010, almost two years ago, how time flies. I was with Bt for just over 20 months.

That was the second time I had gone with BT broadband, the first being in 2000 as they was my first broadband ISP. the only reason I went back the second time because I thought their BT broadband anywhere package package was a good deal.

It was ok, but not great. Before they updated the exchange to their so called 21CN, the service was okish, I got about 3 megabits a second if I was lucky, but still struggled with Iplayer and you tube.

Once Bt put me on their so called faster better network, that is when the real problems started, disconnections galore, I even stuck my old speedtouch in place of their hub and it helped a bit. Eventually they got the line stable, but I was lucky to hit over 2.5 megabits. That was sync speed.

so I was hitting around 2-2.5 sync speed, but what ever speed test I tried it would not go above 1.5. everything was really slow Iplayer would not work without stuttering, you tube videos would not work. downloading anything took forever.

So in the end I had enough, looked around for better ISP, had a discussion on another forum that lasted for a few weeks about going to a Cable and wireless network based reseller. It took ages, because me being me took a while to decide as I have heard so many stories about LLU, but in the end I took bait and jumped.

I am glad I did. if my lines was such poor quality then I would still be having the same problem, same lines, just moved onto another network.

so forgive if I don't want to go though that crap again with BT.
noise747 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2012, 23:43
whoever,hey
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 29,888
That does sound really crap, i'm not surprised you wont go back to BT. Though it does sound like infrastructure problems which are run by OR rather than BT.
whoever,hey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2012, 07:02
noise747
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Herefordshire
Posts: 17,475
it did get better for a while after I complained, which was strange, so I thought I would try BT vision. I moved my phone from Pipex to BT as at the time you had to have a Bt phone service to get BT Vision and then everything went back to be being naff.

So I never did get Bt Vision as according to BT checker, my broadband was not good enough. then Bt dropped the need to have a BT phone service to get BT Vision. Of cause now they gone even more backwards and if you have their broadband you must have their phone service.


That is also the reason why I don't want to go to another ISP, I don't want to move my phone service from where it is and just because I may want broadband from another supplier I don't see why I should.

This, if you have this service you must have that service is anti-competitive.
noise747 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 13:44.