Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

XP freeze when I open all progams list


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-05-2012, 14:49
Norbert5
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 850

Just scrolling up and down the list often freezes for about 2 mins if I open task manager first before I go to the start menu it shows MsMpEng.exe shoot up to 98% any ideas
what's causing this.
Norbert5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 08-05-2012, 14:59
anniebrion
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 16,389
Just scrolling up and down the list often freezes for about 2 mins if I open task manager first before I go to the start menu it shows MsMpEng.exe shoot up to 98% any ideas
what's causing this.
MsMpEng.exe is MS antivirus not sure why the start menu would make it max out the CPU

Try excluding: C:\Users\[User Name]\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu from MSE to see if that makes a difference.
anniebrion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2012, 15:33
platelet
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: GL51 0EX
Posts: 7,597
What other anti-spyware / virus software are you using?

MsMpEng looks to be Windows Defender (anti spyware). Googling msMpEng comes up with many pages on it being a resource hog - especially when combined with another AV package

If you have Micorsoft Security Essentials running for instance you should turn Defender off as MSE does eveything it does already.

Last edited by platelet : 08-05-2012 at 15:37. Reason: clarification
platelet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2012, 15:36
anniebrion
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 16,389
What other anti-spyware / virus software are you using? MsMpEng looks to be Windows Defender (anti spyware). Googling msMpEng comes up with many pages on it being a resource hog.

If you have Micorsoft Security Essentials running for instance you should turn Defender off as MSE does eveything it does already.
MSE turns off defender when you install it.
anniebrion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2012, 21:04
Norbert5
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 850
MsMpEng.exe is MS antivirus not sure why the start menu would make it max out the CPU

Try excluding: C:\Users\[User Name]\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu from MSE to see if that makes a difference.
Thanks I've tried that but it hasn't worked yet.

I put it under locations should it be under processes ?
Norbert5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2012, 21:19
anniebrion
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 16,389
Thanks I've tried that but it hasn't worked yet.

I put it under locations should it be under processes ?
Locations is where I'd put it It was a long shot though.
anniebrion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2012, 21:57
IvanIV
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 21,243
Turn the MSE off just to test if it's really causing the troubles. If yes, you may want to look around for another AV programme. My brother can't use MSE on his older PC with XP. I recommended it when it came out, but it just kept using disk all the time and slowing down everything.
IvanIV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2012, 11:01
Norbert5
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 850
I ran a scan with MSE and noticed it hung for 2 or 3 min over Divx and this morning I opened all programs list and it froze while hovering over Divx so I've unistalled Divx.

Also in the last few days I installed Libre office 3.5 it is on the programs list 3.3 is still on the list but now contains Videolan / VLC.
Norbert5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2012, 11:56
platelet
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: GL51 0EX
Posts: 7,597
I ran a scan with MSE and noticed it hung for 2 or 3 min over Divx and this morning I opened all programs list and it froze while hovering over Divx so I've unistalled Divx.

Also in the last few days I installed Libre office 3.5 it is on the programs list 3.3 is still on the list but now contains Videolan / VLC.
Is VLC still on your programs list elsewhere? If not that sounds like an accidental drag and drop. It being there is probably why the Libre Office installer left 3.3 behind. I'd just drag it out of the 3.3 folder and back to the menu above, then delete the now empty 3.3 folder from the menu.

Uninstalling Divx is always a good move, if nothing else it stops the endless updates and attempts to backdoor Norton onto your pc.

Speaking of Norton have you ever used Norton on this machine and if so how did you remove it? If you simply used the windows uninstall option that probably wouldn't do it.

Norton is very tricky to get rid of, and it's remnants have been known to cause problems for MSE.

You need something like Norton's Removal Tool:
https://www-secure.symantec.com/nort...edirect_pubweb
platelet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2012, 12:05
Norbert5
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 850
Never used Norton have used Avg and AntiVir in the past .

VLC doesn't appear anywhere else on the list so yes looks like its a drag and drop mistake.
Norbert5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2012, 16:29
platelet
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: GL51 0EX
Posts: 7,597
Never used Norton have used Avg and AntiVir in the past ...
Okay I've no experience with them, but there's still a chance something got left behind

There's a list of links to removal / clean up utilities here:
http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/p...8-0aa4c25a1f91 and both are mentioned. Might be worth giving them a go
platelet is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:14.