Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 
 

BT Master/Test Socket


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 15-01-2013, 12:22
NorfolkBird
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,375

I have a crackle on my BT phone line. When I plug it into the test socket is doesn't crackle anymore. Is it ok to leave it in the test socket permanently?

Thanks
NorfolkBird is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 15-01-2013, 12:26
chrisjr
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Reading
Posts: 20,356
Do you have any extensions? If you do then they will not work with the faceplate disconnected.

And the cabling to the extension is very likely the cause of the crackle. Absolutely typical symptom of a break in the cable somewhere. If the extensions are not in use what you can do is pull the wires off the back of the faceplate and then put it back in place, just to make things neat.

Otherwise you will need to locate the broken bit of cable and replace it if you do need the extensions working.
chrisjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-01-2013, 13:25
NorfolkBird
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,375
Thank you very much for replying so quickly. We do have an extension that needs to be used, so at least I now know what needs to be done. Thanks, you've been very helpful.
NorfolkBird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-01-2013, 14:56
chrisjr
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Reading
Posts: 20,356
You will probably have to replace the entire cable run though you can get small junction boxes to join the cable back together again.

http://cpc.farnell.com/unbranded/77a...idc/dp/TE05896

That would be the best way to join the ends of the cable back together again. Though it depends on where the break is and whether there is enough slack to allow a junction box to be used.

You would also need a tool like this to punchdown the wires into the terminals (and would need one if you were replacing the cable to terminate the cable at the sockets)

http://cpc.farnell.com/pro-signal/31...ool/dp/TE05832

One thing. If the cable goes under the carpet anywhere or round a door frame rather then through a hole in the frame those are prime candidates for where the break is. Carpets simply hide the damage they don't necessarily prevent it. Just make it harder to fix as well.
chrisjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-01-2013, 10:27
TeeGee
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 53N 2W
Posts: 2,027
For a line test dial: 17070

A message may come back: "caller ID withheld" or "There is no CLI detected for this circuit". Dial the prefix 1470 before 17070 to continue.

Try option 3
TeeGee is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:02.