Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 
 

Should I move to Plusnet?


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 25-01-2013, 21:27
PorkchopExpress
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: North Lanarkshire
Posts: 1,154

I currently have the woeful Sky Connect broadband product and my contract is up in a few months.

I absolutely hate Sky Connect. It's so slow for so much of the day and the traffic management means things take forever to download. Often, I can't even play the PS3 online.

I get "up to 8 meg" supposedly. Occasionally I get about 6meg, but often, 1meg.

I searched on BroadbandChoices.co.uk and Plusnet have a "Truly Unlimited" product which clearly states no traffic management and up to 16meg for my postcode.

However, I know nothing about Plusnet. Any opinions welcome. Cheers.
PorkchopExpress is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 25-01-2013, 22:53
KJ44
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: location location
Posts: 27,219
Yes. Several other threads on here about it.
KJ44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-01-2013, 23:48
jra
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 30,981
I've only heard good things really about Plusnet.

My dad's partner is on Plusnet and AFAIK hasn't ever had any problems.

But as KJ said, there are a fair few threads on here already, which you might want to look at.

I've thought about changing myself, but last time I asked, you could only make 5 hours of international calls/month in your allowance, when you pay a extra fiver a month for the unlimited any time calls package. Also on a personal note, Sky have finally given me my 30 refund for calls made to the USA, though I had to be persistent, so I'm sticking with them for now.
jra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-01-2013, 02:15
DJGM
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Whitefield, Manchester
Posts: 3,488
OP ... you should also consider upgrading to fibre in the not too distant future, if it's available from your local BT
exchange. After the experiences I've had with my ADSL2 in the past week, with constant drop-outs caused by
a fault on the creaking (several decades old) copper cabling between my home and the BT exchange, those
ancient copper wires cannot cope with today's internet. ADSL2 doesn't cut the mustard any longer!

I'm looking to switch to FTTC in the near future, and since Telefonica UK (O2/BE) are still dragging their feet
on deciding if they're going to launch an FTTC service, after looking at all my available options, and with my
own current situation (long story) it looks like Plusnet are the very likely to be getting my custom soon.
DJGM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-01-2013, 11:10
PorkchopExpress
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: North Lanarkshire
Posts: 1,154
OP ... you should also consider upgrading to fibre in the not too distant future, if it's available from your local BT
exchange. After the experiences I've had with my ADSL2 in the past week, with constant drop-outs caused by
a fault on the creaking (several decades old) copper cabling between my home and the BT exchange, those
ancient copper wires cannot cope with today's internet. ADSL2 doesn't cut the mustard any longer!

I'm looking to switch to FTTC in the near future, and since Telefonica UK (O2/BE) are still dragging their feet
on deciding if they're going to launch an FTTC service, after looking at all my available options, and with my
own current situation (long story) it looks like Plusnet are the very likely to be getting my custom soon.
Unfortunately I can't get Fibre where I am at the moment. I was previously a Virgin Fibre customer and it was fantastic.This Sky Connect service is so painful in comparison.

I'm holding on to hope that maybe one day we'll have 4G in the home.
PorkchopExpress is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-01-2013, 15:14
Rossby41
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 566
I'm looking to switch to FTTC in the near future, and since Telefonica UK (O2/BE) are still dragging their feet
on deciding if they're going to launch an FTTC service, after looking at all my available options, and with my
own current situation (long story) it looks like Plusnet are the very likely to be getting my custom soon.
Tbh they are probably waiting the 4G auction outcome. If they win and then fully partner with Vodafone, they'll probably do packages like EE did.
Rossby41 is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 27-01-2013, 14:40
TeeGee
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 53N 2W
Posts: 2,129
I've only heard good things really about Plusnet.

I've thought about changing myself, but last time I asked, you could only make 5 hours of international calls/month in your allowance, when you pay a extra fiver a month for the unlimited any time calls package.
Try Voipcheap.com for internation calls. You can use your own landline phone by putting both number into the request screen and it connects you both up.

For the OP:
Plusnet (a subsidiary of BT) give a good service without any extra marketing and the support staff speak English!
TeeGee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-01-2013, 19:06
Orbitalzone
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Sussex
Posts: 11,261
I've been with Plusnet for several years and have no complaints but like every ISP in the world you will read lots of complaints about them....often problems that are likely due to crappy old phone wiring rather than the ISP.

The only thing I'd say is that the supplied wireless adsl modem might not be the best but you can always use your own if you prefer.
Orbitalzone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-01-2013, 21:16
David_Steele
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 40
I recently moved to Plusnet from Sky and the move went very smoothly. I am happy with the performance of their BB so far. I'd say, go for it.
David_Steele is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-01-2013, 21:21
Richard_T
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: East Midlands
Posts: 3,332
Ive been with plusnet for years, and only had two problems, both dealt with and resolved :
Richard_T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-01-2013, 10:52
blisteringblue
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: North West
Posts: 135
I recently moved to Plusnet from Sky and the move went very smoothly. I am happy with the performance of their BB so far. I'd say, go for it.
Ditto, while I had no problem with Sky BB I wasn't paying a premium for line rental and service when the TV went.

Move to Plusnet went fine though. We were off for a day before things fired into life. Much better than the 10 days $ky quoted in our cancellation e-mail, but if you are coming to Plusnet from another BT product then you will not have this.

It's great being back on a BT product as I can use my own router and have a lot more choice when fibre comes to our exchange in March.

Plus if you can convince a few friends to join you get monthly referral rates to reduce your bill.

Anyway it's "Reet honest broadband from Yorkshire" what more could you want?
blisteringblue is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 31-01-2013, 15:12
Ancient IDTV
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1,970
I used Plusnet Value for almost four years, and didn't have any serious problems with it. Maybe four or five instances where I lost internet access for a few hours. I'm still using the original router they provided. Their pricing changed recently, and I've made the switch to their new Unlimited package (9.99/month). I would recommend them.
Ancient IDTV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2013, 17:04
Smiffy
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 68
Am currently in the process of swapping out from Sky BB to Plusnet's unlimited fibre optic service. Doing a pretty good deal at the moment with half price for 6 months.
Phoned Sky last night to get my mac code, was expecting to be kept on the phone for ages while somebody begged me to stay but apparently my code will be sent out within 2 days!
I have been having issues with my connection lately, spent 15 minutes on hold the other night to them, when the music finished I thought I was in luck but no...I was cut off. Happened twice. Was on the phone for a total of an hour, to be told that an engineer would be calling me back. Three days later I am still waiting.
Smiffy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 12:08
Scraggy Taters
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 2,757
I recently moved to Plusnet from Sky and the move went very smoothly. I am happy with the performance of their BB so far. I'd say, go for it.
I did exactly the same over a year ago & never looked back since.
Only had 1 instance of very temporary BB loss in 14 months but their customer service is the best I've ever encountered.
Currently haggled a deal worth 5.99 a month for the 60GB (more than adequate) limit.
Even better if you pay the 12 months line rental (which,cost me 113.88 before the price-rise) upfront.
I'd recommend anyone considering switching their BB to seriously consider using Plusnet.
Scraggy Taters is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:27.