Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

No satellite signal being received


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-02-2013, 21:35
chris_elevate
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: South East
Posts: 456

Hi,

I've got a shot gun cable that I've wired up this afternoon but it won't work =(

The cable, unfortunately, has 2 breaks in it where I've had to extend it. Basically it goes from an upstairs bedroom to a join under the floor board. It then runs through the wall to the outside. It joins just outside the building and the run the rest if the way to the dish.

The join outside, I noticed was a but wet when I took the gaffs tape off to fit the connector. Do you think water has got into it and effected it? I've wrapped it in self algamating tape no btw.

Let me know your thoughts,

Thanks
chris_elevate is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 02-02-2013, 21:40
TV DUNIYA
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 6,561
Are you sure that the joins are correctly connected?
Have you checked for any sharp kinks,bends in the cable?
If you have enough length,try cutting,the end where you suspect water ingress, and refit the f-connector.
TV DUNIYA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 21:47
chris_elevate
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: South East
Posts: 456
Cheers. It's important that the bristly outer layer is pushed back away from the with inner core too isn't it? Not contact can be made here I guess?
chris_elevate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 23:39
coopermanyorks
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In Gods Own County
Posts: 20,002
Who fitted / aligned the dish ?

It is always best where possible to run the cable with no joins,especially exterior ones

Have you used the smaller type F connectors which are suitable for the shotgun cable
coopermanyorks is online now Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2013, 15:14
MartinPickering
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: A small Greek island
Posts: 2,803
See how to join cables: http://www.satcure.co.uk/tech/fconn.htm#joint
MartinPickering is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-02-2013, 23:02
chris_elevate
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: South East
Posts: 456
Thanks for the help and advice guys.

Sorted it in the end, turns out I left the cable (inner core) too long at the dish. This caused the inner core to double over and touch the outter core!

Whilst I'm here... could you suggest what eBay part I'd need to convert the dish from a 4 cable connection to 8 please?

Thanks for you help again
chris_elevate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-02-2013, 12:35
MartinPickering
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: A small Greek island
Posts: 2,803
You'll need a Sky minidish OCTO LNB.
Read info. here: http://www.satcure.co.uk/tech/page10.htm
MartinPickering is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-02-2013, 18:56
ProDave
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Northern Scottish Highlands
Posts: 11,302
If buying an Octo LNB, make sure you buy oen that has brackets, or adapeters to fit both the old and new types of sky dish. You probably don't know which you have.
ProDave is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 19:51.