Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

Fibre Broadband without Calls and Line Rental


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 16-02-2013, 09:34
HeavyMetalFan10
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 3

Hello. I am someone who uses their broadband a lot, and would need an unlimited package. I am currently on O2, but am looking to switch as O2's service in my area (Plymouth) is slow and unreliable. I am looking at getting fibre optic broadband.

Although, I very rarely use my landline phone, as most calls go through my mobile, so I am wasting money if I purchase a calls package with my fibre optic broadband. I also have to pay 'line rental' to BT.

I have been looking at two fibre optic broadband packages, Virgin Media's 60/100Mb broadband only and Plusnet's Unlimited 80Mb fibre broadband. As far as I am aware, Virgin has no up-front costs/line rental to pay, and is just a flat fee of 22.50 for the 60Mb and 30 for the 100Mb. Plusnet is cheaper at 20 for their 80Mb broadband, although I am wondering if I would still need to pay line rental to BT if I got Plusnet broadband. As well as that, there is a 50 activation fee for Plusnet's service.

Any help would be appreciated, and I am open to any suggestions of other Internet Service Providers.
HeavyMetalFan10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 16-02-2013, 09:40
Rossby41
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 599
Any internet service that is done over the BT network you still have to pay line rental (plusnet is included in this).
Rossby41 is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 16-02-2013, 09:48
robertcrowther
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 236
Although this is a side issue, I think you will find that it is cheaper if you had your calls go through the land line rather than your mobile. People do forget that it's more expensive for people to call you on a mobile than a land line.
robertcrowther is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-02-2013, 14:18
noise747
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Herefordshire
Posts: 17,435
Although this is a side issue, I think you will find that it is cheaper if you had your calls go through the land line rather than your mobile. People do forget that it's more expensive for people to call you on a mobile than a land line.
That is why when I got rid of my landline and went for wireless broadband, i got a local number on sipgate and connected my home phone that way.
noise747 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-02-2013, 14:30
robertcrowther
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 236
That is why when I got rid of my landline and went for wireless broadband, i got a local number on sipgate and connected my home phone that way.
I would rather have fibre broadband than wireless, as my fibre connection is 160mb and I only pay 20 per month plus 10 for line rental with unlimited calls.
robertcrowther is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-02-2013, 16:31
neo_wales
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: South Wales/Gran Canaria
Posts: 7,412
Most packages will include a telephone service so just don't us the phone. I'm on Talk Talk FTTC, very fast unlimited, I pay 5 a month extra which gives me 1000 minutes landline to any mobile network but local and national calls are inclusive to the deal.

I'd never be without a land line, they still work even in power failures and the way the weather is these days I think power outages will become more common in the coming years.
neo_wales is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-02-2013, 16:38
Icaraa
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 411
I would rather have fibre broadband than wireless, as my fibre connection is 160mb and I only pay 20 per month plus 10 for line rental with unlimited calls.
You on FTTP?

I assumed from the other thread you worked for BT? Surely then your FTTP connection is 6 per month?
Icaraa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-02-2013, 17:48
robertcrowther
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 236
You on FTTP?

I assumed from the other thread you worked for BT? Surely then your FTTP connection is 6 per month?
I don't work for BT, but I have worked closely with them, and been on some of their training courses and I do know a lot of people that work for both BT and Openreach.
robertcrowther is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-02-2013, 15:12
Icaraa
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 411
Ok great, well I thought you did so I'll take what you said in the other thread with a massive pinch of salt then.
Icaraa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-02-2013, 19:35
robertcrowther
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 236
Ok great, well I thought you did so I'll take what you said in the other thread with a massive pinch of salt then.
Up to you, all I can do is pass on the information from the documents I have read from Openreach. That's better than the guess work by others.
robertcrowther is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:32.