Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

BBC Red button changes


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 18-02-2013, 21:17
jj20x
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 1,102
Jest like before the changes happened.
Back to the drawing board...
jj20x is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 18-02-2013, 23:53
gomezz
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Buckingham
Posts: 23,778
Which is just what Richard Briers was acting to avoid.
gomezz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-02-2013, 07:10
Sue_Aitch
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 4,712

Dated 18th February 2013 - 15:29

Thanks for your comments.

We’re aware of some isolated issues with specific set-top boxes failing to load parts of the service on Freeview. The Red Button team are trying to replicate it on their own representative sample of set-top boxes, working to identify the problem and fix it.

Thanks for your patience.
Sorcha Clifford (Content Producer, Red Button)

http://www.bbc.co.uk/blogs/blogbbcin...-23rd-February

Let the team know if your STB /idTV trew a wobbly. Former service has been resumed in the meantime.
Sue_Aitch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-02-2013, 07:15
mossy2103
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 59,020
Which is just what Richard Briers was acting to avoid.
Took me a bit of time to work that one out ......
mossy2103 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-02-2013, 08:50
Sue_Aitch
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 4,712
Still back to quarter screen at the mo
Sue_Aitch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-02-2013, 18:19
Rob199
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 4

I note the updated BBC Red Button Text has been re-inistated.

It still does not work with my Dion ST01 STB. It still does the following: displays the main template and index details; then appears to stop before displaying the 'button shorts' at the bottom of the screen; and then 'crashes' back to the BBC channel being viewed after a few seconds.

On my backup STB it works OK. HOWEVER, I notice: [1] there is a delay to display 'button shorts' at the bottom of the screen after the rest of the screen has been displayed; and [2] if you enter a page number [e.g. 501] there is a delay to change the number's background colour from red to a white 'box'.

Therefore, I still reckon that whatever is happening between displaying the main part of the screen and the 'button shorts' at the bottom of the screen, may be attributing to the failure.

I've also posted this on the BBC's 'Red Button' internet blog
[link: http://www.bbc.co.uk/blogs/internet/...y#dna-comments ]
Rob199 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-02-2013, 11:05
FTAonly
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sandy Heath
Posts: 17
My Goodmans GDB12XIT has the same problem as the Dion. Pages that have not changed much, e.g. Weather, mostly seem to work, but other pages lack the buttons at the bottom of the menu pages and drop back to the TV when any page is selected.

It should be noted that this box always has had a problem in that it frequently forgets the page numbers, particularly if the previously watched station was also a BBC station.

However, if they can get it to work, I like the full screen news pages.
FTAonly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-02-2013, 11:26
Sue_Aitch
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 4,712
Do report your STBs' problems to the Manufacturers' Helplines or Webmails in the hope of Over Air Downloads.
Sue_Aitch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-02-2013, 07:36
Sue_Aitch
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 4,712
New Blog post http://www.bbc.co.uk/blogs/internet/...bruary-2-March
Sue_Aitch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-02-2013, 10:53
David_Ayling
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: East Kent. DOVER TX
Posts: 433
went on red button lastnight & it looks like they have changed it back again.
David_Ayling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-02-2013, 01:57
Sexbomb
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Preston
Posts: 12,421
What the hell are they doing with the red button text? I'm sick of it seeing it change from the old style sections to the new look sections, wish the BBC would make their minds up
Sexbomb is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 24-02-2013, 02:42
jj20x
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 1,102
What the hell are they doing with the red button text? I'm sick of it seeing it change from the old style sections to the new look sections, wish the BBC would make their minds up
They have restored the old service while they investigate problems caused by the new layout.
jj20x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-02-2013, 07:16
Sue_Aitch
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 4,712
All being well, the Team working on the changes will get there.
Sue_Aitch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-02-2013, 08:47
iiyama17
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Cheshire
Posts: 616
What the hell are they doing with the red button text? I'm sick of it seeing it change from the old style sections to the new look sections, wish the BBC would make their minds up
A slight overreaction methinks...
iiyama17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-02-2013, 17:49
Rob199
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 4

Sun 24-Feb - I see the 'old' BBC Red Button Text has been re-instated again.

I know that I keep going on about the 'shortcut buttons' at the bottom of the screen but I noticed something new.

I had thought that the problem might be new code causing the STB to run out of store/RAM/memory...especially as someone reported that their STB actually crashed and re-booted but I'm not sure now.

Please bear with me...

On my STB that works with both 'old' and 'new' Red Button there is a delay in displaying the 'shortcut buttons' at the bottom of the screen. The delay seems to be longer with the 'new' Red Button.

My main STB works with the 'old' Red Button but fails with the 'new' Red Button...
With 'new' Red Button 'shortcut buttons' at the bottom of the screen are not displayed and the STB crashes back to the TV programme being viewed [as mentioned before].
However, today I noticed that with the 'old' Red Button there appears to be NO DELAY in displaying the 'shortcut buttons' at the bottom of the screen. The same is true when going to different pages, it SEEMS as though they are not re-displayed.
[In some 'page based' computer applications it is possible to either clear the screen and then display the whole new screen or NOT clear the screen and just display the changes over the top of the existing screen - this saves time and the amount of data transmitted over a network. Of course it's not being displayed over a network here but within the STB, so????].

But maybe different STB's are displaying the information in different ways???

It would be interesting to know how other peoples' failing STB's act on the 'old' Red Button, as it might give the BBC some more clues.

I also note that the BBC has closed it's Red Button blog [mentioned previously].
Rob199 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-02-2013, 18:15
Rob199
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 4

Just had another thought...

Could the STBs that work OK with the 'new' Red Button be displaying the information as they get it [as it's processed]? [So there are delays in parts of the screen being displayed]...

and could the failing STBs be storing up that information until there is a complete screen? [So, if everything processes OK, the screen changes in a 'blink of the eye']

Therefore causing the failing STBs to use more store/RAM/memory and possibly exceed what's available?
Rob199 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-02-2013, 07:34
Sue_Aitch
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 4,712
I also note that the BBC has closed it's Red Button blog [mentioned previously].
Yes and no

Archive up to January 2013 is here http://www.bbc.co.uk/blogs/bbcinternet/red_button/

Changes were made this January
http://www.bbc.co.uk/blogs/internet/...-Internet-blog

Newer blogs for January 2013 onwards are here http://www.bbc.co.uk/blogs/internet/tags/Red_button

Comments on http://www.bbc.co.uk/blogs/blogbbcin...-23rd-February (the one we both posted to) were closed before Saturday morning to make way for http://www.bbc.co.uk/blogs/internet/...bruary-2-March.

Might I suggest you follow up your line of inuiry to the latest blog and to your STBs' manufacturer(s)?
Sue_Aitch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2013, 06:36
Sue_Aitch
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 4,712
Current blog
http://www.bbc.co.uk/blogs/internet/...-March-9-March
Sue_Aitch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2013, 11:24
paul_m
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Romford
Posts: 1,423
Which has nothing to do with the BBC Red Button changes this thread is talking about
paul_m is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2013, 18:25
Sue_Aitch
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 4,712
It is, however, the current blog from the Red Button Team, paul
Sue_Aitch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2013, 09:42
Sue_Aitch
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 4,712
New blog out today. No further word on how much progress there has been made in debugging the Freeview new version of Red Button Digital Text we had last month and Community and Read Hear pages have no content available at the moment.
Sue_Aitch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-03-2013, 23:52
David_Ayling
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: East Kent. DOVER TX
Posts: 433
Removed
David_Ayling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-03-2013, 23:57
David_Ayling
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: East Kent. DOVER TX
Posts: 433
It looks like the changes to BBC red button have now been added once more & this time it looks like all of bugs have been Removed.All looks well so far
David_Ayling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-03-2013, 07:15
Sue_Aitch
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 4,712
We're missing some page numbering eg 1675 does not link to Isle on Man and Channel Islands just yet.
Sue_Aitch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-03-2013, 07:36
mossy2103
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 59,020
We're missing some page numbering eg 1675 does not link to Isle on Man and Channel Islands just yet.
I have to congratulate you on your sterling work here.
mossy2103 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:04.