Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 
 

Mobile speed test: how fast is your mobile network?


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 18-03-2013, 01:12
The Lord Lucan
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Scotland
Posts: 3,744
Top right hand side of the image shows the Wifi symbol.
The Lord Lucan is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 18-03-2013, 07:25
coolmp3
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 134
Agreed 7mb upload is too fast for even dc-HSPDA
coolmp3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-03-2013, 08:09
thebennyboy
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Pontypridd - South Wales, UK
Posts: 129
Agreed 7mb upload is too fast for even dc-HSPDA
The highest upload i get on my Xperia T (on Three's network) when connected to DC-HSDPA is about 3 mbit/s. 7mbit/s upload is a bit too fast for a mobile connection (excluding LTE).
thebennyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-03-2013, 10:01
daleski75
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Northampton
Posts: 746
Got 23mb down and 3mb up on HSPA+ (EE) on my Lumia 920 over the weekend.
daleski75 is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 18-03-2013, 10:22
Steven L Hunter
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 10,473
Got 4.2Mb download and 0.32Mb upload on vodafone with my iPhone 5 just now.
Steven L Hunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-03-2013, 10:23
PollyPerm
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: London
Posts: 72
Most of the time I get less the 2Mbps in most places around London. If I'm lucky I'll get upto 7. Most of the time around Liverpool I get more near the 7 mark. HTC One X on Orange. Hoping if I get a DC-HSPA phone next I'll see more consistent speeds. Especially once the EE upgrades are finished in London.
PollyPerm is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 18-03-2013, 11:04
denyo1977
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 595
This morning on Three with Nexus 4

http://www.speedtest.net/android/398873196.png
denyo1977 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-03-2013, 11:58
coolmp3
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 134
This morning at farringdon station London

http://www.speedtest.net/iphone/493062408.png
coolmp3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-03-2013, 12:00
thebennyboy
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Pontypridd - South Wales, UK
Posts: 129
wow, you must have been stood right next to a mast. Pretty impressive speed.
thebennyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-03-2013, 12:43
matty1000kk
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 120
wow, you must have been stood right next to a mast. Pretty impressive speed.
This is EE 4G so to be expected on a lightly loaded cell in the morning.
matty1000kk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-03-2013, 12:48
denyo1977
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 595
Interesting to see what other people achieved around the world by changing the number in the URL
denyo1977 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-03-2013, 14:06
The Lord Lucan
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Scotland
Posts: 3,744
Orange/EE 3G

http://www.speedtest.net/iphone/493247467.png
The Lord Lucan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-03-2013, 15:23
thebennyboy
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Pontypridd - South Wales, UK
Posts: 129
Three DC-HSDPA in South Wales. Mast serving my area is congested at the moment making the speeds a little low. Three say it's due a capacity upgrade later this month. Speed isn't too bad, but could be better.

http://www.speedtest.net/android/399180025.png
thebennyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-03-2013, 15:36
The Lord Lucan
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Scotland
Posts: 3,744
There is a brand new transmitter near the beach. (Back of Asda/DW sports) on top of the new Warehouse near there. DC-HSDPA'd so should be pretty fast with 3 & EE, I'm yet to try it.
The Lord Lucan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-03-2013, 20:33
Minardi
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Midlands
Posts: 157
Top right hand side of the image shows the Wifi symbol.
If I have WiFi on my phone turned on, even if I'm out of range, it still shows as a WiFi speed test. Noticed that the other day. I'm on a farm out in the sticks, if my ADSL was anywhere near that quick I'd be a happy man! The upload looks too fast to me too, a couple of tests afterwards yielded high 3s and low 4s, with similar downstream.
Minardi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-03-2013, 21:33
DevonBloke
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Totnes, Devon
Posts: 2,492
DC finally arrived in rural Devon. Since Friday, most masts between Plymouth and Exeter on the A38 now enabled.
My mast (which covers a vast area including a town) now doing 20Mbps sometimes. Next mast down got 24.5Mbps on Saturday.
Two more Orange EDGE (very rural) masts now 3Gd. Still crap backhaul though.
My brother now has an iPhone 5 on Three and can confirm DC also.
I'm still here... Occasionally!
DevonBloke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-03-2013, 21:43
WelshBluebird
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 240
DC finally arrived in rural Devon. Since Friday, most masts between Plymouth and Exeter on the A38 now enabled.
My mast (which covers a vast area including a town) now doing 20Mbps sometimes. Next mast down got 24.5Mbps on Saturday.
Two more Orange EDGE (very rural) masts now 3Gd. Still crap backhaul though.
My brother now has an iPhone 5 on Three and can confirm DC also.
I'm still here... Occasionally!
Coverage on Three has also apparently been improved in North Devon (based on what my friend has said), and DC has been enabled in the Bath area too (Sadly I don't have DC device to test speeds).
Nice to see you still around btw .
WelshBluebird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-03-2013, 21:51
DevonBloke
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Totnes, Devon
Posts: 2,492
Coverage on Three has also apparently been improved in North Devon (based on what my friend has said), and DC has been enabled in the Bath area too (Sadly I don't have DC device to test speeds).
Nice to see you still around btw .
Thank you. Won't be around much while I sort my life out but still here. Yes, a lot of Orange masts in Devon are now being integrated into the MBNL network. This has the side effect of turning these into Three masts where three previously didn't have coverage.
What I thought would happen is actually happening in that while a lot of urban Orange masts are being decommissioned, most of the rural ones are being upgraded and integrated.
DevonBloke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-03-2013, 23:49
The Lord Lucan
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Scotland
Posts: 3,744
Devon it's quite impressive to see that your area of the UK is rapidly becoming more and more purple (3G) than the red.. Seeing how rural parts of it are.
The Lord Lucan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-03-2013, 07:50
coolmp3
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 134
got this on the train when it pulled into Luton Airport Parkway station.
http://www.speedtest.net/iphone/497804186.png
coolmp3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-03-2013, 08:16
IslandNiles
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 12,571
Speeds continue to be appalling where I live. Here's a test I just ran in Bolton town centre. And to think I moaned about the Full Monty speed cap. Chance would be a fine thing.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/sw36v3cege...2008.10.47.png
IslandNiles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-03-2013, 08:58
The Lord Lucan
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Scotland
Posts: 3,744
Island: Where abouts in Bolton was this done? This morning?
The Lord Lucan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-03-2013, 08:59
IslandNiles
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 12,571
Island: Where abouts in Bolton was this done? This morning?
Right in the town centre near the town hall. And yeah, it was this morning.
IslandNiles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-03-2013, 09:35
The Lord Lucan
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Scotland
Posts: 3,744
I would report that to the network, all the evidence I can find suggests you should be seeing speeds much faster than that.

Try using the Preston server in the app.
The Lord Lucan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-03-2013, 09:57
IslandNiles
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 12,571
I would report that to the network, all the evidence I can find suggests you should be seeing speeds much faster than that.

Try using the Preston server in the app.
I'll do another outdoor test later using the Preston server, and report back.
IslandNiles is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:03.