Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

Free upgrade for Thompson sky+hd box owners


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 21-04-2013, 16:58
matthewhotdude
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Birmingham
Posts: 3,749
So when are we going to get these boxes?
matthewhotdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 21-04-2013, 17:21
sodafountain
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Wrexham
Posts: 10,059
So when are we going to get these boxes?
When did you respond to the letter, what did they tell you?
sodafountain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-04-2013, 19:44
Lanky
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Lancashire
Posts: 208
I got a call this morning and the HD box to replace my Sky+ box should be delivered by the end of the week. I'd responded to their letter on 10 April.
Lanky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-04-2013, 12:04
A.Penrose
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 179
I got a call on Saturday tea time. My new HD box is coming on Thursday to replace my old Sky+
A.Penrose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-04-2013, 05:35
chivers
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 93
Well I got my new box yesterday did a self install, came via post, so got to keep my old box. Its a 500g box.

Several thoughts come to mind. Firstly and most important to me is that the picture is nowhere near as sharp and detailed as the tomson it replaced, the thomson had been modified and had nothing wrong with it at all just the software incapable of being updated. Only has one scart used the two on the tomson. One the plus side it seems to have woken up the 4:3 option on my TV and the applications via the ethernet cable seen to be vaild.

Now wondering wether to keep the tomson to use a freesat box or will it stop working in the future as software becomes out of date. i only want to use it to view not record ? For this option I would need to use the component out
chivers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-04-2013, 09:05
lotrjw
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: south west
Posts: 6,355
Well I got my new box yesterday did a self install, came via post, so got to keep my old box. Its a 500g box.

Several thoughts come to mind. Firstly and most important to me is that the picture is nowhere near as sharp and detailed as the tomson it replaced, the thomson had been modified and had nothing wrong with it at all just the software incapable of being updated. Only has one scart used the two on the tomson. One the plus side it seems to have woken up the 4:3 option on my TV and the applications via the ethernet cable seen to be vaild.

Now wondering wether to keep the tomson to use a freesat box or will it stop working in the future as software becomes out of date. i only want to use it to view not record ? For this option I would need to use the component out
Just use it as long as your able to, as a FTA receiver like freesat. If in the future it stops working you could get a non-PVR freesat box to replace it.
Also as Sky appear to have enabled the eSATA port on the new boxes, you could take the old hard drive out and set it up as an eSATA drive and plug it in your new box there!
lotrjw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2013, 11:47
fossman
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Derby
Posts: 319
Got a letter yesterday confirming the order of the new HD box.

Slightly concerned now though as the letter states something about subscribing to Sky Entertainment Plus+ at 31.50 per month and that by accepting the box it means agreeing to a new 12 month contract (neither of which were mentioned in the original box replacement offer letter or on the website).
fossman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2013, 13:09
sim116s
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 46

Sorry a little off topic but thought it was interesting to note here.

On a recent visit to Sky HQ in London, I noticed, as I waited in the reception that they are using an old Thompson HD box in their lobby connected to a 50inch tv to show sky news hd. the box its self is connected via HDMI but its definitely an old Thompson box.

I did take a picture (not that anyone is interested) but I can post it here once I remove the meta data from it.

Sorry its a little off topic and boring but just in case someone is interested!
sim116s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2013, 13:16
joshua_welby
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: London
Posts: 6,829

Sorry a little off topic but thought it was interesting to note here.

On a recent visit to Sky HQ in London, I noticed, as I waited in the reception that they are using an old Thompson HD box in their lobby connected to a 50inch tv to show sky news hd. the box its self is connected via HDMI but its definitely an old Thompson box.

I did take a picture (not that anyone is interested) but I can post it here once I remove the meta data from it.

Sorry its a little off topic and boring but just in case someone is interested!
I am interested, is it possible to send me the Photo via a PM?
joshua_welby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2013, 13:20
chenks
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: North Ayrshire
Posts: 10,592
Sorry a little off topic but thought it was interesting to note here.

On a recent visit to Sky HQ in London, I noticed, as I waited in the reception that they are using an old Thompson HD box in their lobby connected to a 50inch tv to show sky news hd. the box its self is connected via HDMI but its definitely an old Thompson box.

I did take a picture (not that anyone is interested) but I can post it here once I remove the meta data from it.

Sorry its a little off topic and boring but just in case someone is interested!
how could you tell it was a thompson box?
did you look at the back of it to confirm? or did you just view it from the front?
chenks is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2013, 17:04
sim116s
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 46
When I get home I will try and get the image up. Just wouldn't want any meta data giving who I am away!

I couldn't look around the back due to the security desk being directly in front of where I was sitting, and also my lack of confidence got the better of me.

But I could see, as I was only a few feet away from it, that it was very big in size and scuffed up. I have had a Thompson box myself as we'll as a smaller Amstrad SkyHD box so I am 98% sure it's a Thompson.

Unfortunately my lack of confidence got the better of me! Maybe next time I get invited there I will get a better chance.
sim116s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2013, 17:08
chenks
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: North Ayrshire
Posts: 10,592
When I get home I will try and get the image up. Just wouldn't want any meta data giving who I am away!

I couldn't look around the back due to the security desk being directly in front of where I was sitting, and also my lack of confidence got the better of me.

But I could see, as I was only a few feet away from it, that it was very big in size and scuffed up. I have had a Thompson box myself as we'll as a smaller Amstrad SkyHD box so I am 98% sure it's a Thompson.

Unfortunately my lack of confidence got the better of me! Maybe next time I get invited there I will get a better chance.
the samsung and pace boxes look the same though, as do the DRX890's

it's the DRX895 that is smaller and looks different.

that's why i was asking if you had identified it any other way than simply looking at the front.
chenks is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2013, 17:16
davemurgatroyd
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,835
the samsung and pace boxes look the same though, as do the DRX890's

it's the DRX895 that is smaller and looks different.

that's why i was asking if you had identified it any other way than simply looking at the front.
DRX890s are the same smaller size as the DRX895 - it is the Amstrad DRX780 that is the same larger size as the Thomson etc.
davemurgatroyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2013, 17:24
chenks
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: North Ayrshire
Posts: 10,592
DRX890s are the same smaller size as the DRX895 - it is the Amstrad DRX780 that is the same larger size as the Thomson etc.
the DRX890's have the same physical look though as the original boxes though (unless the satbuyer are using the wrong image for a DRX890).
chenks is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2013, 10:35
sim116s
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 46
In light of this new info I may have mis-spoke. In my humble opinion though I am 98% sure that it is a Thompson box just through my own experience of the unit.

Next time I am there I will make sure I take a better look at the unit and over come any confidence issues! I know I know ill make sure I grow some balls before I'm next there.

This is the sneaky image i took of the unit (sorry its not a great picture)
http://s8.postimg.org/67vpbtnyt/photo_2.jpg

And this is how close security were to me, directly opposite where I was sitting next to the Sky box (I didn't want to get kick out before having my meeting!).
http://s8.postimg.org/nwng3fzpx/photo_1.jpg
sim116s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2013, 10:39
chenks
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: North Ayrshire
Posts: 10,592
In light of this new info I may have mis-spoke. In my humble opinion though I am 98% sure that it is a Thompson box just through my own experience of the unit.

Next time I am there I will make sure I take a better look at the unit and over come any confidence issues! I know I know ill make sure I grow some balls before I'm next there.

This is the sneaky image i took of the unit (sorry its not a great picture)
http://s8.postimg.org/67vpbtnyt/photo_2.jpg

And this is how close security were to me, directly opposite where I was sitting next to the Sky box (I didn't want to get kick out before having my meeting!).
http://s8.postimg.org/nwng3fzpx/photo_1.jpg
from that image it is impossible to say if it is a thomson or not. it could easily be any of the other 3 boxes that look the same.

the fact that the thomson boxes don't support the current HD EPG then i would say that it is unlikely it is a thomson box.
chenks is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2013, 17:37
John_Morris
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 3
Still heard nothing from Sky and I responded end of March to the letter!
John_Morris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2013, 20:26
nedchester
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 153
Mine arrived today. Just need to watch all the programmes on the old Sky+ box before swapping over.

Incidentally, when Sky rang they mentioned me sending the old Sky+ box back. Well do I have to send the old Sky Box back or can I put it on ebay?
nedchester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2013, 21:26
Nsewell
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 382
You don't have to return the old box, but I don't see why anyone would want to buy it when there's plenty of newer boxes going cheap.
Nsewell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2013, 12:40
fossman
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Derby
Posts: 319
Mother in laws box arrived on Friday and I have self installed it this morning. It's a lot faster than the old Thomson box.

Sky have also asked for the old box back and have included a grey plastic bag and a freepost address to return the box to.

I do like the feature where you can control the box using the Sky+ app.
fossman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-05-2013, 18:54
pinklion
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 8
I was offered a replacement Sky box for the Thomson one we have in my son's room. I was assured I would not have to take out a new contract. I get the new box and a separate letter stating we do have to take a new 12 month contract out and if we don't activate this new box within so many days of receipt then they will add a 31.50 entertainment extra package to our service and we will be tied into that. Will be returning it because we are on a half price deal at the moment and it effectively means when that runs out in August we will be tied in and end up paying through the nose for this new box. Be careful with these boxes, because they may have to replace them anyway without making you take out a new contract, I'm going to wait and see. I think Sky are being very sneaky.
pinklion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-08-2013, 00:18
Mark_Parsons
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 1
We have just taken delivery of the new Sky replacement HD Box. took a moment then noticed, no Co-Ax connections, so all my cabling to share across magic eyes has now been totally wasted.
Mark_Parsons is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-08-2013, 00:54
lotrjw
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: south west
Posts: 6,355
We have just taken delivery of the new Sky replacement HD Box. took a moment then noticed, no Co-Ax connections, so all my cabling to share across magic eyes has now been totally wasted.
there is an add on for that so you can use RF out
lotrjw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-08-2013, 08:51
sodafountain
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Wrexham
Posts: 10,059
We have just taken delivery of the new Sky replacement HD Box. took a moment then noticed, no Co-Ax connections, so all my cabling to share across magic eyes has now been totally wasted.
You need one of these - http://www.gionlineshop.co.uk/produc...t=iO-LINK&sm=3
sodafountain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-08-2013, 15:07
Nigel Goodwin
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: North Derbyshire
Posts: 37,903
We have just taken delivery of the new Sky replacement HD Box. took a moment then noticed, no Co-Ax connections, so all my cabling to share across magic eyes has now been totally wasted.
So you got the new WiFi box then?.
Nigel Goodwin is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:06.