Options

Car Insurance after accident

BerBer Posts: 24,562
Forum Member
✭✭✭
I am a named driver on my husbands policy for his car and he is a named driver on my policy for my car.

A while back I was rear-ended whilst driving his car, the other persons insurance accepted full liability and dealt with repairs, etc.

My question is to do with declaring the accident when renewing our policies - when I renew my insurance on my car would I have to declare having had an accident driving a different vehicle as a named driver and likewise would my husband have to declare that I had an accident in his car?

Comments

• Options
    charger21charger21 Posts: 2,293
    Forum Member
    ✭✭✭
    I would think you'd still have to declare it. Look at it another way, if you only had 1 car then traded it in you couldn't walk away from claims on previous cars, you'd still have to declare them on new car
  • Options
    seacamseacam Posts: 21,364
    Forum Member
    ✭✭✭
    Ber wrote: »
    I am a named driver on my husbands policy for his car and he is a named driver on my policy for my car.

A while back I was rear-ended whilst driving his car, the other persons insurance accepted full liability and dealt with repairs, etc.

My question is to do with declaring the accident when renewing our policies - when I renew my insurance on my car would I have to declare having had an accident driving a different vehicle as a named driver and likewise would my husband have to declare that I had an accident in his car?
    Hi,

Yes, the question asked is something like, " have you had any accident, regardless of blame in the last 5 years"?
  • Options
    mred2000mred2000 Posts: 10,050
    Forum Member
    ✭✭
    ...I was rear-ended whilst driving his car...

Fnar! Takes all sorts!!! :D

I'll get me coat...
  • Options
    lemonbunlemonbun Posts: 5,371
    Forum Member

Yes, you do have to declare it.
  • Options
    Forum Member
    ✭✭✭
    seacam wrote: »
    Hi,