Options

Christmas day - normal day off?

MissjefMissjef Posts: 2,375
Forum Member
✭✭✭
I was just wondering if anyone else who has to work over the christmas period just has actual christmas day as a normal day off?
i think this seems a bit wrong, i work in retail so obviously the shops are all shut, so surely it should be classed as an extra day off?
i work 5 days a week, so this week i had tues off & tomorrow.
I think our company does something weird about holidays, as bank holidays class as normal days so instead of getting a day in lieu or anything we just get extra holiday to take whenever - but surely christmas is different?

Comments

• Options
    chattamanukchattamanuk Posts: 3,397
    Forum Member
    ✭✭✭
    Won't it depend on your contract?
  • Options
    CANDYANGELCANDYANGEL Posts: 21,089
    Forum Member
    ✭✭✭
    Mine is either an Off day or holiday, can't remember what was on the rota. In a normal working week I can be in any days from Fri-Thurs and it changes every week. My contract is 4 days over 7 (3 days off a week) but I usually do more (either 1 or 2 days a week off) but over Christmas I've been having my contracted days off or using holiday up.
  • Options
    [Deleted User][Deleted User] Posts: 2,547
    Forum Member
    ✭✭✭
    Christmas is usually a paid day off, using some of your holiday allowance.
  • Options
    orange1234orange1234 Posts: 1,106
    Forum Member
    ✭✭✭
    We give 28 days paid holiday to be taken whenever the person wants. If they want to nominate any particular day as a day off, then that's their choice. Some faiths don't celebrate Christmas and others are atheist so we don't insist on anything.

To be fair though, we close Christmas day so it's not available to be worked but when it falls on a Sunday for example, the issue doesn't arise.
  • Options
    Smokeychan1Smokeychan1 Posts: 12,194
    Forum Member
    ✭✭
    Missjef wrote: »