Have iPad mini, would a small laptop be better?

David (2)David (2) Posts: 20,632
Forum Member
✭✭✭
I have been using a 3rd gen iPad mini with retina display for 9 months now. Upgraded from ios 7 to 8 successfully....but there are a few limitations to using an iPad. The touch screen is very good but not perfect. A few other things don't work well which work very well on a pc. Multitasking being the key point.

My current laptop is very reliable but too big to use in place of an iPad. I do wonder if one of the smaller laptops (13in display) might be an ideal replacement to use instead of the iPad.

Anyone gone down that route?
I know a lot of people love their iPads but I try to keep an open mind, although the thought of using windows 8 doesn't fill me with joy.

Comments

• GeordiePaulGeordiePaul Posts: 1,323
    Forum Member
    ✭✭✭
    Tablets are just toys. I tried relying on one as an (almost) primary device, but I always end up returning to a PC in the end. In fact, at the moment, I don't even have a tablet as my phone can do anything my tablet(s) could just as well. Any proper PC is infinitely more productive than any tablet. With a bit of tweaking, there's not much wrong with Win8 either.

If you're going to do it though, spend a little extra and make sure you get a laptop with a 1080P screen; many laptops have 1366x768 panels and they are adequate at best, multitasking is far better with a 1920x1080 panel.
  • StigStig Posts: 12,446
    Forum Member
    ✭✭
    David (2) wrote: »
    I have been using a 3rd gen iPad mini with retina display for 9 months now. Upgraded from ios 7 to 8 successfully....but there are a few limitations to using an iPad. The touch screen is very good but not perfect. A few other things don't work well which work very well on a pc. Multitasking being the key point.