Options

Why do I have to 'consume with 24 hours'?

simondsUU933wsimondsUU933w Posts: 4,176
Forum Member
✭✭✭
I buy a pack of 2 fresh chicken fillets regularly but only eat one at a time.

It says once opened, consume within 24 hours - can anyone explain why? I always wrap the remaining one in cling film and keep it in the fridge so why can't it last until the best before date?

Thanks!

Comments

• Options
    wenchwench Posts: 8,928
    Forum Member
    Once opened its no longer sealed and exposure to the air will increase bacterial growth perhaps?
    I'm no scientist but I think thats why.
  • Options
    ParkerParker Posts: 998
    Forum Member
    ✭✭
    When it's sealed in the packaging it will not be regular air in there (I can't remember what inert gas they use though). This helps prevent bacteria spreading. But once you have opened it up to the world the bacteria can start spreading so the levels after that 24 hours can become dangerous.
  • Options
    barky99barky99 Posts: 3,921
    Forum Member
    ✭✭✭
    there are some daft people out there who don't know how to store food & labelling is worded to try to make it clear to daftest they shouldn't leave fresh food lying around too long --- personally I'd be cooking either both & reheating second one next day OR cooking 1 & freezing the other
  • Options
    simondsUU933wsimondsUU933w Posts: 4,176
    Forum Member
    ✭✭✭
    Well I usually cook one one evening then the other the following but occasionally I'm not able to and it seems a waste throwing it away when it's been wrapped in cling film in the fridge.
  • Options
    varialectiovarialectio Posts: 2,377
    Forum Member
    ✭✭✭
    Parker wrote: »
    When it's sealed in the packaging it will not be regular air in there (I can't remember what inert gas they use though). This helps prevent bacteria spreading. But once you have opened it up to the world the bacteria can start spreading so the levels after that 24 hours can become dangerous.