Building a PC

Super BanditSuper Bandit Posts: 1,183
Forum Member
✭✭✭
Hi there

I'm looking to get a new PC for my grandmother and was wondering if I'm better off buying one or building one myself.
I've never built a pc before but have experience in replacing parts/upgrading, so am unsure of how difficult if would be.

She'll mainly be using it for general web browsing, Skype etc

Any advice would be most welcome :)

Comments

• RobinOfLoxleyRobinOfLoxley Posts: 27,040
    Forum Member
    ✭✭✭
    It will take a lot of time to do the research on what bits to buy and where, assemble and configure the machine..

Unless your Grandmother is technically literate, it will likely be up to you to sort out problems that she will have over the life of the PC.
    You may be unsure whether the fact that it is a self-build is causing a particular problem.
    ie some hardware or software clashes.

A pre-built machine will have Warranty, possibly some telephone support, a nice Recovery Partition in case of emergency and a manufacturer's website with manuals and drivers all in one place.
    Also, any problems can be Googled since other users will have encountered them.
  • TheBigMTheBigM Posts: 13,125
    Forum Member
    ✭✭
    Buy her a chromebook, less maintenance than a windows machine
  • noise747noise747 Posts: 30,823
    Forum Member
    ✭✭✭
    TheBigM wrote: »
    Buy her a chromebook, less maintenance than a windows machine

Skype do not work on chromebooks.

As for the OP question, maybe better to get some sort of cheaper all in one machine than muck around with building one. i do not normally say that, but all in ones are fine for what you want.
  • gds1972gds1972 Posts: 6,613
    Forum Member
    Have you also considered possibly getting a tablet or ipad for her to use?
  • Super BanditSuper Bandit Posts: 1,183
    Forum Member
    ✭✭✭
    Thanks for the replies!

I don't think a tablet is for her seeing as she likes a larger screen.