Options

I've been told I owe HMRC money in taxes

[Deleted User][Deleted User] Posts: 4,134
Forum Member
✭✭✭
In 2008 I worked in a retail shop for 1 month and I've been told I owe the government £120.

Since I was a student I don't see why I should pay since they calculated the tax not me. What should I do?

Comments

• Options
    fat controllerfat controller Posts: 13,757
    Forum Member
    ✭✭
    Pay it. It is not worth messing with HMRC - unpaid taxes are the only debts that you can be put in jail for.
  • Options
    CruachanCruachan Posts: 7,211
    Forum Member
    In 2008 I worked in a retail shop for 1 month and I've been told I owe the government £120.

Since I was a student I don't see why I should pay since they calculated the tax not me. What should I do?

If that is the case, you must have had other income during the year which used up your allowances - or HMRC thinks that you had.

If you did not have sufficient income to become taxable, tell HMRC. Else pay what you owe.
  • Options
    [Deleted User][Deleted User] Posts: 1,771
    Forum Member
    ✭✭✭
    Is it enforceable??

I thought they had the following year to tell you about tax you owed. I.e. if you owed for tax accrued between 6 Apr 2008 - 5 Apr 2009, I though they had to tell you prior to the end of the following tax year (in this example, 5 Apr 2010).

Or have I grasped this wrong?
  • Options
    Weigh-ManWeigh-Man Posts: 2,132
    Forum Member
    ✭✭✭
    muffin789 wrote: »
    Is it enforceable??

I thought they had the following year to tell you about tax you owed. I.e. if you owed for tax accrued between 6 Apr 2008 - 5 Apr 2009, I though they had to tell you prior to the end of the following tax year (in this example, 5 Apr 2010).

That's how long you have to pay your standard end of year tax bill. This is different because it's an underpayment that's been discovered after the tax year, as far as I know there is no time limit on having to pay that back.