student loan question

[Deleted User][Deleted User] Posts: 638
Forum Member
✭✭
Hi, I need some advice pls? I completed a BA history and BEd degree a couple of years ago (combined), and qualified for teaching. I then had a teaching job which completely destroyed my confidence and I had a breakdown.

Basically, a third of the class were children with behavioural problems. The head teacher lied to me in my interview, saying that there was lots of support available as there were these children. It was a supply job, as I hadn't been able to find a job, and because it was a term's work, I wasn't able to put it towards my NQT year. (I was desperate for the work so I accepted that; my bad, I know. But at the time, I figured the experience would be good.)

Therefore, I didn't get my NQT time or support. Most of the children were nightmares. I stuck to it, as I figured every NQT would have probs settling in. One of the children hated me (I looked like his mum who had abused him, so he shouldn't have been allowed near me) and he was abusive, violent and nasty to me. Then another child, who was an un-diagnosed (then, not now) schitzophrenic, flew at me with his fists, screaming at me. That was the last straw for me. The head teacher was so ineffective; she wouldn't shout at the children, as that was bad for them. No matter that I was becoming more and more unconfident. I had also suffered violence as a child and then in a bad relationship, so it brought alot back for me.

This incident did it for me, and I quit. I went back to the work I was doing during my degree, and the aftermath caused me to have a breakdown, during which I also developed an eating disorder, and was suicidal. It took a year, but I'm ok now. I also developed insomnia, which I still suffer from.

Alot of info I know, but I needed to explain why I can't go back into teaching. I can't do that to myself again, or even take the risk that it could happen again.