Options

BA honours degree.

Sun Tzu.Sun Tzu. Posts: 19,064
Forum Member
✭✭
Has anyone here studied for one? I'm registering on the Open University to start one in October on a BA History. What should I expect besides essays?

Comments

• Options
    c4rvc4rv Posts: 29,622
    Forum Member
    ✭✭✭
    This is a good starting point,
    http://www.thestudentroom.co.uk/showthread.php?t=1840169

I will say that discipline and willpower are going to be hardest parts of studying from home.
  • Options
    Rae_RooRae_Roo Posts: 1,185
    Forum Member
    ✭✭✭
    c4rv wrote: »
    This is a good starting point,
    http://www.thestudentroom.co.uk/showthread.php?t=1840169

I will say that discipline and willpower are going to be hardest parts of studying from home.

I agree with this. I did a BA when I left school at 17, it was quite straightforward, some exams, but predominantly coursework, essays, reports etc.

I did a BSc years later, which was far tougher, there's a vast difference in the workload and revision needed in the sciences imo.
  • Options
    Forum Member
    ✭✭
    So plenty of reading then and essays? I'm doing it part time, so 8 hours a week. Getting a laptop for it too. A module has a time period on it to to complete?
  • Options
    Forum Member
    ✭✭✭
    Sun Tzu. wrote: »
    So plenty of reading then and essays? I'm doing it part time, so 8 hours a week. Getting a laptop for it too. A module has a time period on it to to complete?

Not sure about time period, I think you can keep paying course fees till you have completed the module so the longer you take, the more it will cost. Don't know how many years your course is but at 8 hours per week studying you will be looking at 7 to 10 years to complete the course.
  • Options
    Rae_RooRae_Roo Posts: 1,185
    Forum Member
    ✭✭✭

It would be a safe assumption you'll have deadlines and the likes, surely they'll provide you with all the relevant info you'll need upon starting. I wouldn't worry unduly.