Options

Is Amazon Prime streaming only?

Hi,

I'm a download/streaming newbie, so apologies for what might be a simple question.

I am considering going for Amazon Prime Video (yes, tempted by The Grand Tour), but I'm concerned over our broadband speed. We only get just over 1.5Mb/s, so what I'd like to check is, is the Amazon system streaming only, or can you download to a PC for future watching.

If it is streaming only, then what chance do we have of it working satisfactorily with our download speed.

And secondly - can you stream and/or download the same program to different devices - eg, a Fire TV stick plugged in to a TV, and then also to a laptop.

Thanks.

Comments

• Options
    neyney Posts: 12,516
    Forum Member
    ✭✭
    I have never used Amazon Prime Video but most streaming services recommend a download speed of at lest 2mb for SD streaming
    3mb and over for anything streaming in HD.
    I do use Netflix but I have fibre broadband with BT as well as BT TV.
    I still know a few friends from mums side of the family that stay a mile or so from Falkirk and they struggle to watch anything streamed in HD with a 2.5mb download speed but they can watch streamed SD stuff almost fine.

Darren
  • Options
    grahamlthompsongrahamlthompson Posts: 18,486
    Forum Member
    ✭✭
    mhstevej wrote: »
    Hi,

I'm a download/streaming newbie, so apologies for what might be a simple question.

I am considering going for Amazon Prime Video (yes, tempted by The Grand Tour), but I'm concerned over our broadband speed. We only get just over 1.5Mb/s, so what I'd like to check is, is the Amazon system streaming only, or can you download to a PC for future watching.

If it is streaming only, then what chance do we have of it working satisfactorily with our download speed.

And secondly - can you stream and/or download the same program to different devices - eg, a Fire TV stick plugged in to a TV, and then also to a laptop.

Thanks.