Options

Illegally Downloading and Uploading etc

ok I'm a bit naive. I've been downloading music from the net for a few years. Originally had Kazaa but besides all the viruses etc that went with it I got rid of it cos of the scare of being prosecuted for illegal downloading.

BUT I missed my music too much so decided to download Limewire. This has worked perfectly for me and was advised by someone who i think is in 'the know' about these things to set my preferences to '0' uploads so that people couldnt upload songs off me even though I could download away off others... therefore I'm not technically sharing any files making what I was doing legal. :confused:

Could someone please let me know if this is right or wrong.
Does it depend on what legislation each government has as my husband told me today that he heard our government were in the process of prosecuting thousands of people for illegaly downloading music off the internet.

Comments

• Options
    [Deleted User][Deleted User] Posts: 5
    Forum Member
    Yep its still illegal. ONly a matter of time before what happens in America will happen here.
  • Options
    chrisjrchrisjr Posts: 33,282
    Forum Member
    ✭✭✭
    It is only legal if the owner of the copyright in the material has given permission for said material to be distributed to you. The fact that you do not intend to share it with anyone else is irrelevant
  • Options
    pxd867pxd867 Posts: 11,489
    Forum Member
    ✭✭
    Plus if do not share, sooner or later you will find that people will cut your download rate.
  • Options
    NoraBattieNoraBattie Posts: 655
    Forum Member
    ✭✭
    :cry: thanks for the advice guys. better get burning and deleting then asap. :o
  • Options
    NetizenNetizen Posts: 5,041
    Forum Member
    NoraBattie wrote:
    :cry: thanks for the advice guys. better get burning and deleting then asap. :o