Options

Seeking body language cat experts.

PobletPoblet Posts: 10,923
Forum Member
✭✭
Background before I get to my question.
Me and my family have been dog lovers, and many were cat haters because of disruption to gardens. This all changed for me when a cat adopted me, a male black cat who must have been at least 11 and the story about him is elsewhere in this forum, he died 4 years ago and I was distaught.

I since have got two beautiful cats that I have had since 8 weeks old, a black Tom and a female cross between tortie and Calico. They will be 2 in April, had all their jabs, been neuterd, chipped etc. However, I am a beginner of having cats from kitten age.

This is about my male cat, there has never been problems with my female cat.

I am aware that if you give them too much fuss they will bite and put claws out, but not actually hurt you.

But what is it about when they do a louder, more gutteral miaow and thump you on the leg or shoes? Again, not claws out.

And when they do the miaow again and raise both paws at you and hiss? Again, no harm, but the pupils go wide and ears back.

This is a cat that will regularly sleep with me in bed, and will lie with me on the settee and put his head right up to be rubbed under the chin, and loves it when I pick him up and hug him.

Trouble is, I get nervous when he does his big guttarul miaow, stroke the top of his head and walk off, because I don't know what his mood is.

Any help please?

Comments

• Options
    owlloverowllover Posts: 7,980
    Forum Member
    Hi Poblet. I'm no expert but I think he's simply saying "Leave me alone. I don't want to be disturbed right now and I'll let you know when I want a cuddle so don't push it". :)

ETA The pupils widening, ears flat and hissing are the signs of fear or anger. He's obviously not afraid of you so I think I'm right about the above.