Help! my cat is pregnant and I need advice on when the kittens are born

[Deleted User][Deleted User] Posts: 10
Forum Member
Hi

My cat Marge is pregnant, any advice on how to prepare and what to do when the kittens get here will be much appreciated!!

Many thanks

Comments

• JoleneJolene Posts: 1,762
    Forum Member
    ✭✭✭
    It would help if you knew the date she concieved but its usually 63 - 65 days term :) Just over two months. Not long - It will fly by :)
    When she lies down on her side, and you see her huge bump, but - its actually moving around (it really does lol), you litterally have a week at the most.

Good luck, I hope she has a heathly fit litter.
  • susie-4964susie-4964 Posts: 23,143
    Forum Member
    ✭✭✭
    lennyhumps wrote: »
    Hi

My cat Marge is pregnant, any advice on how to prepare and what to do when the kittens get here will be much appreciated!!

Many thanks

I'm not an expert on cat pregnancies, but she will need a nice, cosy quiet place to give birth, and to look after the kittens, so you could start thinking about that now, and introducing her to it (although I believe cats will sometimes choose their own place, generally in your airing cupboard on top of all your best linen!). Otherwise, if everything goes smoothly, cats are more or less preprogrammed to look after kittens, and if she's not disturbed, she should be fine.
  • [Deleted User][Deleted User] Posts: 10
    Forum Member
    Thanks to you both for your advice :-) im pretty sure she is almost ready and she has got a big lump and her nipples are really quite pink, I am quite nervous but also will be lovely to see the new arrivals, just have to make sure that they get loving homes and I dont get tempted to keep one!!
  • [Deleted User][Deleted User] Posts: 173
    Forum Member