Family getting on my nerves

[Deleted User][Deleted User] Posts: 8,418
Forum Member
They're obsessed with babies.

I have 2 sisters, a half-sister and 12 female cousins. All except my eldest sister (because of her disabilities) have babies. I feel like my family are hinting and getting at me all the time because I haven't got any yet.

I turned 23 yesterday, I'm applying to university as a mature student, I don't even have a boyfriend at the moment!
I have no plans to have any children any time soon. Of course maybe in the future when I've done everything I want to do: get a degree, go travelling, find a long-term partner and settle down, get a house of my own, etc.

None of that makes sense to them. In their world you leave school, get the first job and bloke that comes along and have babies. They seem to think there's something wrong with me because I don't want that.
Even in my birthday card from my Gran, she wrote "Happy Birthday. Sarah (my cousin) is having a baby in August. Love Nan" Surely that's not a normal thing to write in someone's birthday card?! :eek: It's definitely a hint/dig at me.

I get no support from them for having a career ambition, my Mum has asked several times "what do you want to go to university for?" and I've heard nasty comments implying that I think I'm better than them because of it. It's not that at all :( I just want a career I'll enjoy and to make a better life for myself. Apparently that makes me 'stuck-up' and means I'll look down on them. It gets me so down sometimes, like I'm disappointing them. I've always been the odd one out and they never let me forget that.

I can't win, if I do what is expected of me, I'll be unhappy. If I do what makes me happy, my family hates me.

Does anyone else get this? How did you deal with it?

Comments

• chattamanukchattamanuk Posts: 3,397
    Forum Member
    ✭✭✭
    Can't comment, but wanted to wish you Happy Birthday for yesterday.
  • [Deleted User][Deleted User] Posts: 4,218