Options

Freezing Leftovers

[Deleted User][Deleted User] Posts: 653
Forum Member
✭✭
I would like to start freezing leftovers from dinner to have on another day. I've never done this before so I have a few questions...

Do I put the leftovers straight in the freezer or do I have to let it cool down before going in there?

When it comes to cooking the leftovers, does it need to be defrosted first? If not, how long do I put it in the oven or microwave for?

Comments

• Options
    c4rvc4rv Posts: 29,624
    Forum Member
    ✭✭✭
    Yes, cool before freezing so as not to defrost other items in your freezer and not everything freezes well, especially stuff with dairy in there.

For defrosting, if you have time then take it out in the morning into fridge (or previous evening if eating at lunchtime) to make reheating easier. However you can reheat from frozen though times and power levels will vary with power of microwave and what you are defrosting. Main thing is the centre of food has to be piping hot. If you have defrost level on your microwave then use that.
  • Options
    Forum Member
    ✭✭
    c4rv wrote: »
    Yes, cool before freezing so as not to defrost other items in your freezer and not everything freezes well, especially stuff with dairy in there.

For defrosting, if you have time then take it out in the morning into fridge (or previous evening if eating at lunchtime) to make reheating easier. However you can reheat from frozen though times and power levels will vary with power of microwave and what you are defrosting. Main thing is the centre of food has to be piping hot. If you have defrost level on your microwave then use that.

Thank you!

So I should avoid freezing food with dairy in? Are there any other foods that aren't suitable for freezing?