The difference being intelligent and being clever

IzzySIzzyS Posts: 11,045
Forum Member
✭✭
A friend I emailed kindly suggested I might have a high IQ. I know my general knowledge isn't great and I'm not very good at basic things like maths, so I tend to think I wouldn't necessarily do well in an IQ test, so she replied saying she believes there's different types of intelligence, which was an interesting thought.

I then saw a program recently called Satisfied Fool, where Karl Pilkington talks about intelligence and gets his intelligence tested - anyway the relevance being that at one point he's with Germaine Greer and she says that (something along the lines of) 'there's a difference between being intelligent and being clever'. Again, that really interested me, so I asked my friend what she thought. She reckoned people who can adapt well to tests and aren't easily distracted, who can apply themselves to certain things, their perhaps more clever? any other thoughts on this, how would you distinguish the difference between being clever and being intelligent?.

Comments

• FaithyHFaithyH Posts: 2,826
    Forum Member
    ✭✭✭
    No idea. I think it boils down for me to science. People who can work out complicated things like atoms and genes etc I think of as intelligent. People who can work out how to make a million from a product they design i think of as clever.
  • Pink KnightPink Knight Posts: 24,773
    Forum Member
    ✭✭✭
    Someone can be intelligent in a academic sense and completely gormless in real life.
    Someone can be very shrewd with everyday life and not be good at retaining facts or figures or solving puzzles or whatever.
    Some people are lucky to be both. Don't know if its as simple as academic = intelligent, shrewd = clever.
  • swehsweh Posts: 13,665
    Forum Member
    ✭✭