The fake locksmith sticker that could mark you for burglary

Comments

• Slarti BartfastSlarti Bartfast Posts: 6,607
    Forum Member
    Sophisticated? More like needlessly convoluted and conspicuous! I'm no burglary expert (honest) but I can think of far more subtler ways of identifying and targeting properties than this. Amateurs!
  • Si_CreweSi_Crewe Posts: 40,202
    Forum Member
    Now the cops just need to slap them on a few empty buildings filled with napalm.
  • sodavlacsodavlac Posts: 10,607
    Forum Member
    ✭✭
    I don't get it.

Why not just burgle the property there and then if the house is a good target?

If they have to use scouts, why couldn't the scout just tell the burglars the address of good properties instead of putting a sticker on the property that the property owner is probably going to remove if they see it? It could also get washed off in the rain.

If they're hard to notice then how are the burglars going to spot the stickers without looking dodgy?
  • Tony TigerTony Tiger Posts: 2,254
    Forum Member
    ✭✭✭
    Was gonna say is this anything like the old chalk code myth but the DM handily referenced it for me :D:D
  • heikerheiker Posts: 7,029
    Forum Member
    I found one of these stickers on my letter box about two to three weeks ago. Ripped it off, binned it, thought nothing of it so forgot all about it.

Now I find that the Media has gone totally nuts about it :confused:

The stickers are so tiny and the text on them so small, I can't believe there's a burglar in the country with good enough eyesight to spot them from any distance.
  • d'@ved'@ve Posts: 45,452
    Forum Member
    sodavlac wrote: »
    I don't get it.

Why not just burgle the property there and then if the house is a good target?