Can any golf fans explain the different tours to me?

Hugh JboobsHugh Jboobs Posts: 15,316
Forum Member
✭✭
Wonder if anyone can help out a bit of a novice when it comes to following professional golf.....

I started playing golf about four years ago and I've been really interested and thrilled by the last two or three Ryder Cups. When I'm at a loose end and there's coverage of some random tournament on Sky, I'll often stick it on and watch it - wishing I could play as well as the men (and women) featured! However, it's dawned on me that although I appreciate the actual golf itself, I usually don't really know what I'm watching or what bearing it has on the overall sport. There seems so much I don't understand about the actual tours and tournaments.

I know there's a European Tour and also a PGA Tour....but beyond that I get completely lost. I have loads of questions and I suppose the best way to ask is by simply writing out all the stuff I don't understand and hoping there's a helpful soul or souls out there who can answer some of them! So I'll give it a try....

Why the different tours? Is one a "break-away" from the other? Is one a higher standard than the other? Does a tour last a certain number of months i.e. is there a "golf season"? Can a pro golfer decide which tour to join at the start of a season, or is he "invited" onto it? What influences a player's decision to play one tour and not the other?