Options

What to do with life?

samcheesesamcheese Posts: 1,830
Forum Member
✭✭✭
Hi all,

I'm in a dilemma.....I'm almost 22 and have spent 5 years working in catering....how that ended up I don't know. I loved my last job but had to find a new job because I needed more hours.

I'm hating the new job and realised that I didn't like my old job because it was catering, but because of the customers and colleagues. I'm now fed up of catering, I don't feel passionate about it and am bored.

A question I have for everyone is...have you always known what you wanted to do in life??

I'm finding it so hard job hunting when I don't have a clue what I want to do! I have 5 years experience in catering but want a change. I'm worried that new employers of a different sector won't bother with me due to lack of experience.

But first of all I have to decide on a career! I feel like I'm 15 again!!! I don't have a particular skill or talent to put into a job. I'm a guide leader and LOVE that but there's not many career options in Guiding unfortunately.

Any advice much appreciated!! Thank you

Comments

• Options
    fi~fi~ Posts: 5,481
    Forum Member
    im 31 and still dont know for sure what i really want to do
  • Options
    [Deleted User][Deleted User] Posts: 5,526
    Forum Member
    samcheese wrote: »
    But first of all I have to decide on a career! I feel like I'm 15 again!!! I don't have a particular skill or talent to put into a job. I'm a guide leader and LOVE that but there's not many career options in Guiding unfortunately.

I'm about a year younger than you and in a similar position- I don't know what I want to do! (I've always wanted to be an actor but desperately need to think of something to do for a day job!) It's so frustrating when everyone else from school etc has always seemed to know exactly what they want to do isn't it? :(