Homemade Rabbit Toys

[Deleted User][Deleted User] Posts: 2,606
Forum Member
✭✭✭
I'm picking up two rabbits tomorrow. I'm a newbie to bunny care, although I have been doing tonnes of research, since I just knew that the advice Pets at Home gave would be completely wrong.

Anyhow I have been having a lot of fun trawling charity shops and pound shops for items that I can craft bunny toys out of. I don't really want to buy any purpose-made rabbit toys because it seems so much more fun and engaging to make my own, or to buy things that aren't meant to be rabbit toys but which can be adapted for that use.

Other bunny keepers: which toys do your rabbits like the most? What have you made at home that they love?

So far I have:
- a plastic sippy cup for them to roll around, I can also put some veggies or hay in it
- a few squares of carpet for them to chew or dig
- a large plastic punch bowl that will be ideal for burrowing. I will fill it with shredded paper.
- some cardboard tubes from kitchen roll/toilet paper
- a small tennis-type ball
- a dog chew toy
- a book for them to shred (Dannii Minogue's biography - millions of them in the 99p store)
- an old wooden chopping board for gnawing

I'm planning to go to the local hospice shop in the morning, they always have children's toys that will be great for the bunnies.

Please share your toy ideas :D

Comments

• missyaliciamissyalicia Posts: 2,068
    Forum Member
    ✭✭✭
    Newspaper, telephone directory, kitchen/toilet roll tube, plastic flower pot, cardboard box with a hole in and filled with hay, a cuddly toy, fleece blanket, baby rattle, plastic bottle.
    Forum Member
    ✭✭✭
    Also a plastic tub half filled with woodshavings and then hay to dig.
  • topcat2topcat2 Posts: 6,265
    Forum Member
    did anyone else read the title think what the heck then realise it was in the pet section

just me then...
  • andersonsonsonandersonsonson Posts: 6,454
    Forum Member
    topcat2 wrote: »