Options

Landlord selling property - I cant afford to move out

[Deleted User][Deleted User] Posts: 69
Forum Member
HI All

I was hoping to get some advice as I just found out that the property I am renting is about to be sold and I have been given 2 months notice to move. The problem is I cannot get my finances together to afford a new deposit and to hire a removal company to move in this time period and don't know what to do.

As a bit of background, I have been renting this house since September 2011. The owner was an old lady who was in a home and her family member had power of attorney to rent it out (to me) via an agency. My contract has been a rolling contract since September 2012.

Last week the owner died and the property was left to 2 family members. They have decided to sell and want it vacant to decorate and sell asap. I will need to leave by end of April.

I spoke to the agent about perhaps extending by another month but it has been refused and I explained although I work I cannot get 2 months rent and removal costs together in this time. I asked if I can get my deposit back early (as I have regular inspections and the place is being decorated in any case and everything is fine) but was told the earliest would be on the day I move out.

They did say if I took another property with them I may be able to transfer my deposit but they are a small agency with not many properties and none of a similar size and price to what I have.

What are my options?

If I could get the deposit back early I could probably afford to move but the only way I can think is to not pay the final months rent and ask them to use the deposit - my fear is that they may take a CCJ on me (they have all my details of employment, passport photocopy etc)

My friend said if the landlord sells its their responsibility to re-house me but Im not sure if this is true for a rolling contract.