NEW COMPANIONS; Weird or Normal??

Face Of JackFace Of Jack Posts: 7,181
Forum Member
What it says really.
I've gotten sick of companions of the Doctor being 'Something else' !!
I'm an old-school Doctor Who fan....so I know what I'm talking about. I grew up with Susan as the Dr's grand-daughter, Ian & Barabara were her schoolteachers. All normal there....apart from Susan was a bit telepathic (only seen once!).
The rest of the Doctors companions were all normal human beings (he's had a few ones from the future and past).
Next was Tom Baker taking on Leela, then Romana from Gallifrey (which doesn't really count!)
Peter D took on Tom's Adric from Alzarius (or was it Terradon??) Nyssa from Traken, Tegan from Croyden/Brisbane, Turlough from (:cool:) and Peri from Lanzarote!!
Colin Baker took Mel from Pease Pottage (near Miss Marple!)
Sylvester took Ace from Perivale........

All quite 'normal' associates' in the end!

In the new series - the companions were quite normal until:-

SERIES 5 onwards: AMY & RORY:-
Dying every other episode??? Babies?? Corny story with River Song?? Living for thousands of years as an auton???? River Song is your child? Dying AGAIN!!!

SERIES 8: GOOD! So far - Clara has become a new woman and found herself a new man (as in Danny Spink). I was worried that Clara was going to become another 'weird' companion along with Amy and her ''other self' and Rory !

PLEASE be just like Jamie and Zoe, or Turlough and Tegan!!:)

Comments

• MinkytheDogMinkytheDog Posts: 5,658
    Forum Member
    What it says really.
    I've gotten sick of companions of the Doctor being 'Something else' !!

I wouldn't mind a companion who is important when he meets them - it makes sense that he'd meet someone during a "crisis" and they'd be "important" in relation to that one episode - but I'd prefer to do away with the galactic importance - them all being born to save the universe etc

Mind you, they had that with Martha and blew it.