Options

Project marked down

[Deleted User][Deleted User] Posts: 1,207
Forum Member
✭✭✭
Hi,

I'm in my last year at university studying English Lit. I have just received back a piece of work, which I was already shown over a week ago and told what my mark was. After that it went to moderation, a typical process where they check the marking is right. But my mark has gone from a 68 to a 62!!!

I'm really gutted and quite worried about my overall degree result. I have never had this happen to me before. On top of all this the module I produced the work for was brand new and rather unorganised. The assessment criteria was not clear at all but all the same I worked my ass off to produce what I thought was fairly decent work.

I guess I just wanted to see if this has happened to anyone else. I know it does happen but I'm so upset it has been reduced that much, especially after the chaos the module presented. In the comments from my lecturer she even said it wasn't far off a 1st, now it isn't far off a 2:2! :(:cry:

Comments

• Options
    [Deleted User][Deleted User] Posts: 5,506
    Forum Member
    But it is a 2:1. You could worry about it, or get on with other things.
    It happens. Sorry, but there's not much more to say beyond that, and not sure what advice anyone can give. Yes it did happen to me, and I just "OK".
  • Options
    Forum Member
    ✭✭✭
    Sorry if I sound unappreciative. But I have been through hell and back trying to get my degree. I feel like I have taken 20 steps back. Every mark counts in the final year and for me its the difference between a 2.1 and a 2.2 and possibly my job offer being taken back. I just cannot 'ok' it.
  • Options
    Beer MonsterBeer Monster Posts: 1,157
    Forum Member
    ✭✭✭
    is a pass on a BSc course considered crap?
  • Options
    [Deleted User][Deleted User] Posts: 5,506
    Forum Member