Has Hollyoaks been better than this?

FiregazerFiregazer Posts: 5,888
Forum Member
I'm quite new to Hollyoaks, EastEnders is the only soap I've stuck at. So I was wondering if Hollyoaks has always been an absolute mess?

There's no general storyline, just pointless plots shoved together into one episode, and even they don't last. The Sienna stuff was interesting but then suddenly she stole the engagement ring and ran Patrick over?

Getting into a soap is always quite confusing but I just can't get to grips with what is going on.

Comments

• lady_xanaxlady_xanax Posts: 5,662
    Forum Member
    This is a bit of a rough patch atm. It is more tongue-in-cheek and melodramatic than the other soaps but it's generally fun and not afraid to stir things up.
  • RingoJ739KRingoJ739K Posts: 23,347
    Forum Member
    ✭✭✭
    Definitely.

It's in an awful state at the moment. Nowhere near as good as it used to be years ago.
  • NeomysterioNeomysterio Posts: 13,426
    Forum Member
    ✭✭
    Its been extremely good before but its a proper mess at the moment.
  • danyelldanyell Posts: 10,854
    Forum Member
    ✭✭
    It used to be brilliant. It even was slightly realistic once upon a time. Now it's a shambles.
  • Daily DreamsDaily Dreams Posts: 1,440
    Forum Member
    ✭✭✭
    As somebody who's watched HO from around 2006/2007, I can safely say I've completely lost interest in it now. The extremely OTT storylines, the change in characters to suit development, the overused screen time of certain characters.

For example one word, Tony.. His affair with Sinead, doing it behind Diane's back etc. just to me isn't Tony. As an original character, if I was his actor I'd VERY annoyed.

Theresa.. Yawn and her new baby with seven names.

Sienna would be such an amazing character, if she was in the style of Ronnie Mitchell on EE :( as in, yeah she might be villainous but she's got some good in her. Sienna's just overused now and thrown down our throats.