Options

1990's Rave Scene

Neutral_5Neutral_5 Posts: 135
Forum Member
Growing up as a kid, I was into rave acid house, house and rave from the very late 80s and into the early 1990s.

Unfortunately for me, I was too young to attend any live/underground raves.

But I do have a great memory of some great music and the hot summers in England.

I've seen a few clips on youtube and I can't help but think there was some serious carefree of happiness there.

Does anybody have any experiences/recollection of this particular era?

Comments

• Options
    PictoPicto Posts: 24,270
    Forum Member
    ✭✭✭
    I have plenty of experiences but no recollection.:(
  • Options
    [Deleted User][Deleted User] Posts: 1,828
    Forum Member
    ✭✭✭
    Only my parents, uncles, aunties etc talking about Exodus, being in their mid twenties, blaring out the loudest music in the town. (We would be living in a nice 4-bed owned house back then, people were on mixed working shifts while Grandma was usually out as a night nurse) Mighty fine memories being a little pip back in the early nineties.

I was obviously too young, and it feels like a shame to have grown up and moved out. :[
  • Options
    Biffo the BearBiffo the Bear Posts: 25,859
    Forum Member
    ✭✭✭
    I used to enjoy going to raves in Manchester and Stoke in the early to mid 90s, and it was a great scene, although not quite as nice and chummy as people make it out to be. You could tell it was reaching its end though as people were just getting bored with its inherent shallowness.
  • Options
    ShaiyaShaiya Posts: 3,512
    Forum Member
    ✭✭✭
    All I remember is Ebenzer Goode.
  • Options
    Forum Member
    Shaiya wrote: »
    All I remember is Ebenzer Goode.

There was a lot of controversy surrounding the release of that single.
  • Options
    PictoPicto Posts: 24,270
    Forum Member
    ✭✭✭
    Neutral_5 wrote: »
    There was a lot of controversy surrounding the release of that single.