Theatre

[Deleted User][Deleted User] Posts: 9,333
Forum Member
Hi all,

one thing I noticed a distinct lack of around here was any talk of Theatre, which seems odd as it's a backbone of British Culture. We have such an amazing Theatreland in London and wonderful venues in other cities and they're so rarely mentioned on here.

I've been an amateur performer for 11 years, have done 6 plays and countless Musicals/One night Musical Showcases at venues including the Lowry Lyric and Quays Theatres and the Opera House, Manchester.

I love to watch as well, go to London frequently and have seen friends who have gone pro shine as they finally live their dreams.

Theatre can make you feel so many different things, shock you, make you laugh until you cry or just make you want to dance in the aisles. It can be so wondefully emotive (the best shows I've seen have left me sobbing!), and absorbing, no more so than onstage, and around my job I'd say it's my whole life.

Anyone else there like to go to the Theatre? What have been some of your favourite productions/plays/shows/writers? Anyone out there like to share their own experiences of treading the boards?

Em aka "The Thesp" to my friends! :D xx

Comments

• [Deleted User][Deleted User] Posts: 2,476
    Forum Member
    ✭✭✭
    My daughter and Mum saw Oliver The Musical (with the lovely Jodi Prenger as Nancy, Griff Rhys Jones as Fagin) and loved it to bits.
  • The VixenThe Vixen Posts: 9,829
    Forum Member
    I have just joined a local amateur voluntary theatre group.

I actually love Shakespeare plays too, they are so relevant now even though they were written in the 1600's. Racism, anti-semetism, oedipus complex (very Jeremy Kyle:D ), sex, love, infedility.

Life isn't so different today.:D
  • [Deleted User][Deleted User] Posts: 9,333
    Forum Member
    Harrowing. wrote: »
    My daughter and Mum saw Oliver The Musical (with the lovely Jodi Prenger as Nancy, Griff Rhys Jones as Fagin) and loved it to bits.