Linux Help...

TheVoidTheVoid Posts: 3,086
Forum Member
✭✭✭
Hi I have a Netbook and I'm thinking of changing to Linux.

Mainly because I only have a Netbook and I only use it for web browsing and maybe burning some discs. I presume Linux will be lightening quick compared to Windows 8?

Where do I get the latest version from?

Can you still use MS Word or would you have to get something via Linux? Do all programs you can download from the web work with Linux too, i.e. anti virus, email apps.

Thanks

Comments

• 1saintly1saintly Posts: 4,197
    Forum Member
    ✭✭✭
    Awful lot of questions to be answered there.

Going off youre questions its obvious youre a complete newbie to linux.

You would be better off posting in, or getting post moved to.

http://forums.digitalspy.co.uk/showthread.php?t=1482956&page=81
  • MaxatoriaMaxatoria Posts: 17,980
    Forum Member
    ✭✭
    Linux is a completely different operating system so nothing will work "out of the box" like MS word etc but there is normally a linux program that'll do 99% of whatever a windows program could do and if you know nothing about linux it may be better to setup a VM and have a play as if you muck things up you can easily start over

it probably won't be much faster than windows 8 but maybe you could up the performance with some more memory or a SSD
  • IvanIVIvanIV Posts: 30,308
    Forum Member
    ✭✭✭
    I would consider one thing, how good are you with computers. Because there's more people that can help you with Windows problem than with the Linux one. Often just googling will bring the answer. With Linux it might be more tricky.
  • TelevisionUserTelevisionUser Posts: 41,411
    Forum Member
    TheVoid wrote: »
    Hi I have a Netbook and I'm thinking of changing to Linux.

Mainly because I only have a Netbook and I only use it for web browsing and maybe burning some discs. I presume Linux will be lightening quick compared to Windows 8?

Where do I get the latest version from?