Options

Advice re answering complaint emails

Ted CTed C Posts: 11,731
Forum Member
✭✭
I work as a manager in a company, and one of the tasks I perform (though it is not specifically my job, just one small part of it) is to answer complaint mails from customers.

Yesterday someone from our corporate office forwarded a link to a website, where someone had made a negative comment about our company. It was literally only one sentence from an anonymous blogger. I was then asked by my manager to investigate this 'complaint' and try to contact the person etc.

Frankly, I refused to do this, for the following reasons -

1. It's NOT a complaint. Anyone who wants to complain to our company can contact us and we will obviously respond and deal with the issue.

2. It's an opinion, and an anonymous opinion at that.

3. The sentence was extremely vague, with no details, context or description to verify the comment.

4. Like every other major company, no matter how good they are they will ALWAYS have negative comments posted on websites, including this one.

Now the question is, can a company force a manager to get involved in such matters if the employee refuses? As I said, answering complaints is part of my job description, but as I said earlier, these are not technically complaints.

My personal feeling on this is an 'all or nothing' scenario. You should either ignore such things completely, because they will always happen and you will never stop people posting comments on website - I believe it's futile to try and stop it from happening. However, if a company decides it wants to deal with such issues on websites and social media sites, then employ people to do it. Some large companies do, such as Transport For London. I know they answer their comments on Facebook, for example.

But I was wondering where I stand on the issue of refusing to get involved in this type of thing.

Comments

• Options
    annette kurtenannette kurten Posts: 39,543
    Forum Member