Options

How do you respond when someone asks how much do you earn?

[Deleted User][Deleted User] Posts: 1,825
Forum Member
✭✭✭
I never know what to say when someone asks me this, I usually tell people the truth but at the same time it makes me a little uncomfortable. Does anyone have a good way to deflect from answering or am I just being silly? :confused:

Comments

• Options
    swehsweh Posts: 13,665
    Forum Member
    ✭✭
    You look 'em dead in the eye and say, "MYOFB!"

Do people really ask you about how much you earn? That is very indecorous.
  • Options
    Bex_123Bex_123 Posts: 10,783
    Forum Member
    ✭✭
    "Why is it any of your business?"
  • Options
    [Deleted User][Deleted User] Posts: 1,825
    Forum Member
    ✭✭✭
    sweh wrote: »
    You look 'em dead in the eye and say, "MYOFB!"

Do people really ask you about how much you earn? That is very indecorous.

Maybe its a student thing, I'm currently in my final year at university and people are concerned about getting grad jobs, hence why it crops up in conversation sometimes. However I do feel that if you really want to know then there are means of finding out yourself and asking outright is a little rude :sleep:
  • Options
    ba_baracusba_baracus Posts: 3,236
    Forum Member
    ✭✭✭
    I just tell them, I'm not ashamed of it. In fact I will tell you all now. A below the national average £20.5K
  • Options
    CherryRoseCherryRose Posts: 13,198
    Forum Member
    ✭✭
    coolgirl wrote: »
    I never know what to say when someone asks me this, I usually tell people the truth but at the same time it makes me a little uncomfortable. Does anyone have a good way to deflect from answering or am I just being silly? :confused:

Just tell them you get paid pound notes
  • Options
    swehsweh Posts: 13,665
    Forum Member
    ✭✭