Moffatt vs R T Davies

[Deleted User][Deleted User] Posts: 12,830
Forum Member
✭✭
Davies, for all his faults, just had a much bigger vision. Moffatt was good as part of the vision, but on his own, is insufficient to maintain Doctor Who.

Comments

• *Eileen**Eileen* Posts: 9,881
    Forum Member
    What a negative thread to start on Christmas Day :mad:

For the record I dsagree with you. I'm not a RTD hater like quite a few on here, he brought Who back and did an excellent job as showrunner, but I have enjoyd series 5 far more than any other recently and think Moffat is doing an excellent job - long may he continue.
  • Digital SidDigital Sid Posts: 39,870
    Forum Member
    Russell brought back Who and made it the success it was, for which I am eternally greatful, but as a writer, I don't really rate him, excellent with characterisation, but really not so great with plotting and when it came to bigger episodes, awful at resolutions. Also a tad too sentimental.
  • [Deleted User][Deleted User] Posts: 12,830
    Forum Member
    ✭✭
    Moffat seemed to be better as part of the RTD whole, rather than on his own. His episodes under RTD were sharper. really Moffat needs his own version of himself under himself, a major deputy to widen the scope.
  • VerenceVerence Posts: 104,586
    Forum Member
    ✭✭✭✭
    I like RTD but I also like The Moff.

Which one is best??

There's only one way to find out

Fiiiiiiiiiight!!!!!!!!!
  • tingramretrotingramretro Posts: 10,974
    Forum Member
    ✭✭
    petertard wrote: »
    Davies, for all his faults, just had a much bigger vision. Moffatt was good as part of the vision, but on his own, is insufficient to maintain Doctor Who.

Rubbish. Moffat has consistently shown himself to understand Doctor Who and to know how to write and produce it, far more so than that overrated hack. 'Vision'? If so, it was a woefully limited one.
    Forum Member
    ✭✭✭✭