General Anesthetic/ Surgery?

[Deleted User][Deleted User] Posts: 5,526
Forum Member
Have you been under general anesthetic before? How long did it take you before you felt normal again- did you feel woozy for a while? Do you dream during it? How much do you remember from it? Is it just like being asleep?

Does anybody have any general tips for before or after surgery? I'm having some surgery on my knee tomorrow, and all being well I should be home again by tomorrow night!

I'm really freaked out because it's my first time having any surgery or general anesthetic! I feel like such a wuss- I think it's a fear of the unknown type thing :(

Any answers or advice would be appreciated- thank you in advance.

Comments

• mw0390mw0390 Posts: 23,117
    Forum Member
    ✭✭✭
    Pinkster wrote: »
    Have you been under general anesthetic before? How long did it take you before you felt normal again- did you feel woozy for a while? Do you dream during it? How much do you remember from it? Is it just like being asleep?

Does anybody have any general tips for before or after surgery? I'm having some surgery on my knee tomorrow, and all being well I should be home again by tomorrow night!

I'm really freaked out because it's my first time having any surgery or general anesthetic! I feel like such a wuss- I think it's a fear of the unknown type thing :(

ive had about 20 odd major opertaions due to my disability, longest ive been under was 12 hours i think

You will prob get an injection for the anesthetic(i seem to always have to have the mask, as they can never find a vein)

It can take a good while before you start feeling "normal" again, it normal takes me a good night's sleep and then im fine,

Personally ive never dreamed, you just feel yourself falling asleep(which is a very werid feeling) and then ur back awake again(which again is very werid)
  • [Deleted User][Deleted User] Posts: 1,731
    Forum Member
    ✭✭✭